Rider's Reviews

Saigon - Dalat - MuiNe. The ‘Hawaii’ of Vietnam

Hi Ms Hue, Many thanks for your email. We very much enjoyed the trip - and will certainly contact you if we plan another trip to Vietnam! I'm back in Europe now, missing Vietnamese weather, food and cycling! 12 - 15 May 2013

Pieter Houlleberghs party from Belgium

Meandering the Mekong Delta 7 days

'Van the Man' has provided us yet another superb bike tour for the second time for my group of 11 people this time. What can I say? I was so impressed with his service back in 2016 and I came back with a bigger group this time and Mr Van, once again excelled in all areas of accommodation, food, places visited (fruit plantations; flower gardens; brick factories; fish farm etc), those 'Giant' mountain bikes, continuous water supply, fresh fruit for morning and afternoon teas and last but not least were our excellent guides Mr Dat & Mr Loc. Mr Dat and Mr Loc were superb during our tour. Their attentiveness, professionalism; friendliness and knowledge of the area were second to none. We rode the back roads of Mekong Delta for 7 days where we saw and experience the real people and how they live in the Mekong Delta areas where it is still untouched by tourists. Children were always happy to see us pass their houses and their schools and always greeted us with 'hellos' and big smiles on their beautiful faces. It is highly recommended for those who would love to see the real Vietnam, its people, their way of lives, their culture and of course the fruit plantations in the delta. Go with 'Van the Man' the founder of Vietnam Backroads. It is owned and operated by a locally cycling company that provides a very unique experience to see the real Viet Nam. Once again, on behalf of my group, I would like to 'thank you' Mr Van for providing us with an unforgettable experience riding Meandering Mekong Delta with your Vietnam Backroads Company!!!!! Our thanks also go to Mr Loc and Mr Dat. 'Never say never again. 20 - 26 Feb, 2017

Swie Lan party of 11 from Australia

Meandering the Mekong Delta by bike 7D/6N Hi Mr Van, Just want to thank you, Hue, A. Trung, and Chu Hoang for a memorable biking experience. It was truly a special reason for me to tour the Mekong Delta. I have been posting my journey on Face Book so my friends & family could follow me on my journey. Please share this link with Mr Trung and driver, Mr Hoang. I will be in Saigon until Tuesday morning so feel free to call A Minh's cell phone if you wish to contact me while I'm still here. I hope to find myself back in Vietnam again soon so I can go on another biking adventure. Saigon - Ben Tre - Tra Vinh - Soc Trang - Bac Lieu - Ca Mau - Rach Gia - Chau Doc - Saigon 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 -9 - 10 July 2012

Linh party from Canada

Dolta Festival of Mekong Delta

Hi Van, My apologies for our delay in response but we have been traveling all this time and have just returned home to Australia. This has given us time to reflect on our Mekong Delta Bike ride. It was absolutely fantastic from the quality of the cycling equipment, and the deluxe van and highly professional guide and driver. Dat, as our guide, was exceptional and made this tour a highly memorable, enjoyable and challenging trip. His knowledge of the area, his ability to personalise for our interests, the food and the different bike routes. Our driver, Mr Loc, was very professional, punctual and drove very safely through some very busy parts of the Mekong and Ho Chi Minh City. Please pass onto Dat our regards and gratitude – tell him that Jim will never forget the shave and haircut and that he now looks 10 years younger. We have already passed on your information to people in Australia so hopefully when they go to Vietnam they use your company. WE will definitely put something up on facebook and give a very high rating. 26 - 27 - 28 - 29 April, 2017

Kerry and Jim Dollman from Australia

I enjoyed it very much ! It was a wonderful way to experience the Mekong Delta. I think some better communication needed from our guide - especially with directions- more notice and guidance required. Overall, it was great fun, thank you ! 12 - 15 June 2013

Kate Langdon party from New Zealand

This tour was much better than I thought it will be. Variations of the culture interest was good. Dat cycle so much I have common so I was a bit anxious for the distance of the tour, but it was no problem. Mostly because of the bikes. It would have been good if there was a recommendation for padded short for longer trips in the confirmation e-mail. Now we did not think about buying them until it was too late. I really enjoyed this trip and will give a great review on TripAdvisor. 2 - 5 Jan 2015

Karl Gustafsson party of 5 from Sweden

Dear Ms Quang and Van (“The Man”) This just a note to let you know much we enjoyed our tour, tour guide and driver. From the first contact we had with Vietnam Backroads (Ms Quang) we were impressed with the efficiency our tour was organized, questions answered and suggestions made. We found the bikes excellent, in good condition and performed without any problems. Accommodations for the three nights in question were very good. We found the route varied, very interesting, off the beaten track and easy riding. The added attractions, floating market, river barge, temples visited and people we met all added to the overall experience. We can not say enough about our guide Thang and our driver whose Vietnam name meant “Strong” so of course we called him “Strongman” (with his permission) for our trip. Thang’s leadership was very much appreciated. He made a point of making sure we saw things, had experiences, visited out of the way places and generally was a great ambassador for his company and country. His interest in food meant that for 4 days we got to sample very different and authentic Vietnamese food which, on our own, we would never have had the opportunity to sample. Ms Quang we do have a couple of suggestions and although quite minor might help to make the tour even better. A more detailed map of the area the tour was to travel through including the towns/cities could e-mailed prior to the to departure of clients. Some form of carrier, either attached to the handlebars or under the seat would be helpful and useful. More comfortable seats for women who do not necessarily ride a lot and might be a little older. Feel free to use any or all of this e-mail in your advertising should you wish. As long as I can convince others my wife and I would like to return with a larger group. We shall see. Please pass this on to the “Strongman” and Thang. Thanks once again for a great experience. 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 Feb, 2015

Cheers Tony and Kaz Dufficy from Canada

Dat is excellent. We was very accommodating and flexible. He showed a lot of patience with all of our requests. His positive and attitude meant so much to us. The service and expense were really five star. Dat properly adapted all of the biking routes and distance to fit our family. He demonstrated real earring and enthusiasm which made our trip special. This was one of the best trip we have taken. 29 Dec, 2015 - 01 Jan, 2016

David Lande family of 5 from the US

It is now almost two and a half weeks that we are safely back in Germany. Our onward 5 days cycling trip in Mekong Delta and non adventures from Saigon to Nha Trang then to Hoi An and finally to Siem Reap was very interesting and full of new impressions. We hope that you are fine and that business is going well for you. Very best regards and all the best. The best Mekong Delta bike Tour 25 July 2011

Gerald and Dorit from Germany

Wow! You couldn’t ask for a better way to see this wonderful country. Anyone who thinks they have seen Vietnam by travelling on buses and trains hasn’t done more than scratch the surface. Van is the man when it comes to organisation, information, safety, good food and a zest for life. I cannot recommend him and his company enough. Van tailored the trip perfectly. 17 July 2011

Monique and Ian Reed from Australia

Biking Mekong Delta homestay- CaiBe

This 4 day cycle tour of the Mekong Delta, with my wife and two teenage daughters, was absolutely sensational. In addition to taking us completely off the normal tourist track, it enabled us to experience the true friendliness and way of life of the local people. However, this could not have been achieved without the support and professionalism of our fantastic guide, Tang - Articulate, informative, good-humoured and practical. Overall, I would not hesitate in recommending this Company's trips to anyone. 18 - 21 July 2013

Graham Wood family from UK

This is his second trip Home-stay was not as I would have hoped unless there is no other option I would have preferred another hotel. Another excellent tour. Will be back for another Ms Katie: I have enjoyed every minute and have been very impressed with all the staff. From when i booked, I always had very quick responses to my emails. Our guide, Nghi was very knowledgeable and did everything. He could make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Thanks you very much! Our driver was excellent too! Mr Luke: Very enjoyable tour, well organized and got to see lots of things we would not otherwise have seen on our trip. 20 - 21 - 22 - 23 Sep 2013

Katie Mccready party from UK, Graham from Australia

Hi Vietnam Backroads Team, I wanted to send a note to tell you how much we enjoyed our Mekong Bike Tour. It exceeded our expectations! Our guide, Thang, was excellent. He really made us feel like we were a local. His knowledge and love for Vietnam is apparent, and he shared so much information with us. This was more than a bike trip, it was a cultural trip though the Mekong Delta that happened to be on bikes. Thang quickly found out that we love food and he made sure we tried everything. We have never had such good food on a trip! Thang also arranged stops along the way to learn about Temples, coconut farming, brick making, rice paper production, coconut palm leaf roofs, water hyacinth weaving and so much more. Our driver, Mr. Thao, was also very good. He was prompt and helpful. Thank you so much! 2013

Kris Prescott family from US

If you have a sense of adventure than I would not hesitate to combine interests of sight-seeing with cycling on and off roads. The trip was made more memorable by the knowledgeable guide and friendships formed along the way. I would recommend the tours highly and plan to do another before I head back home. Thanks, goes out to Anh Thang, Anh Van, and Michael guys. Tri Pham party from Australia.

Tri Pham party from Australia

Thang is the best guide- very patient, knowledgeable and awesome. The bikes & routes are great. We've learned so many things about Vietnam. We've also done so many firsts ( boat rides , our bikes, eating rice mice, etc). Such an amazing tour. We'll definitely recommend it to friends. We had a wonderful time. December 4th, 2013

Karen Rigoroso's Party From Philippines

My girlfriend and I were fortunate enough to take a 3-night, 4 day tour of the Mekong Delta with Vietnam Backroads and had an amazing time. From our first initial enquiry to the moment we were dropped back at our hotel, we were dealt with promptly and professionally. During our trip we cycled from village to village along the Mekong Delta, getting a taste of local provincial life, eating great food and meeting some amazing people along the way. During this trip we experienced a number of different sides of this region, such the fruit growing areas (stopping off to meet the farmers while they worked and sample their goods), the scenic rice fields of the Khmer people and finally the canal districts. Our guide Thang, was an absolute machine, taking care of all meals, providing cycling coaching when needed and by simply making things happen (including when a usual river taxi was unavailable, he arranged for a local coconut farmer into taking us across the river in his stocked coconut boat – which was pretty unique experience). Thang was full of information and always keen to educate us on the Vietnamese way of life and give us every opportunity to experience it – a genuinely great guy and a pleasure to spend our time with. This trip was an absolutely amazing experience – from the incredible scenery each day, the opportunity to experience culture and also experience number of things we thought we never would have (such as buying fruit and coffee from local sellers in the floating markets, watching the sunset from the top of a Mekong river taxi, and eating some pretty exotic food) to the countless kids running out of their village houses to shout and wave “hello” and wave as we rode past – truly unforgettable I can’t recommend Vietnam Backroads highly enough – for my girlfriend and I this was a very different and unique way to see Vietnam, and experience its culture from the very heart of it. We had an amazing time! Thanks Ms. Hue & Thang for an incredible experience. Shaun Hutcheson. December 9, 2013

Shaun Hutcheson and Karen Rigoroso

We enjoyed our trip very much. Very well organised with great guide. 30 Dec, 2016 - 02 Jan, 2017

Georg Schneider and Karin Alker from Germany

The best Mekong Delta Bike Tour

, I wanted to thank you for arranging the most wonderful bike trip for me and my son, Ian. It was exactly what we had hoped for - beautiful scenery, great food, wonderful people, manageable biking and the best guide ever. It was a very meaningful trip for us, for many reasons, all enhanced by Dat’s wise and spiritual guidance. We were not ready for the trip to end. Thank you also for helping us arrange transportation to the Wild Gibbon Tour, which was quite an adventure. 2014

Judy Judith Lee Kottick' family from US

HCM - Cao Lanh - Sadec - Can Tho

Dat- the guide and Toan- the driver were fantastic! They really made us enjoy our time. Dat was incredibly knowledgeable and took great care of us. The only problem was the trip went too fast! Thank you for the trip of life time. We won't forget this experience any time soon. Jeremy_ May 1, 2014

Jeremy Donald Hess from United States

I had a really good time by bicycling for 3 days with Vietnam Backroads. I enjoyed watching people living in villages and greeting them, especially kids.... It would be nice if we could choose the food for breakfast, lunch, dinner with our guide and have them with him. I wanted to eat breakfast and dinner at local restaurants, markets, not in hotels. Thank you so much for your wonderful guide and I appreciated everything. A-ri-ga-to. Sep 16, 2014

Ayako Koike party from Japan