Rider's Reviews

Cycling to Rach Gia - Boat to Phu Quoc

The cycle tour my girlfriend and I went on was undoubtedly the highlight of our trip to Vietnam. We had 4 amazing days and got to see. There are many beautiful places and to meet so many of the wonderful People in and around their homes. Van was a wonderful host and knows the paths of the delta like no one else, which means you're immediately off the beaten track and in amongst the locals. 04 April 2010

Richard and Karen from London

We would like to thank you for a great trip. When we think about our holiday in Vietnam, the cycling trip through the Mekong Delta was one of the best memories! Route was very good and very nice landscapes. The small boats crossing the canals, and small bridges, were very good. Again, thank you for a very nice trip. We felt very comfortable and safe on the entire trip. 17 April 2011

Dejan and Mie from Denmark

We are in Cambodia for the next 5 days and then our adventure in SE Asia is over. We thoroughly enjoyed our cycling part of the trip with Backroads. We were delighted to get off the busy roads and away from the motorcycles and horns and pollution. The paths we biked were so interesting. The village people and farmers were exceptionally friendly calling out "hello" at every opportunity. The experience totally changed my opinion of the wonderful Vietnamese people. Our guide, Bobby, was exceptional. He worked hard at explaining the sights and answering all our questions. He had a great sense of humour. Our driver was great as well. Although he did not speak English he was always courteous and ready to help. We enjoyed our hotels on the the second and third night. The hotel Cuu Long (I think that was the name) on the first night was very rundown. It was clean but very tired. The meals Bobby set up for us were great. He worked hard to give us a feel for the real Vietnam. The only part that we would improve upon is a little more cycling, especially on the third day. Bobby explained that there were no back roads to take and he was quite right that the main road would not be fun to cycle. We are avid cyclists and would have prefered to cycle closer to 60 Km a day rather than ride in the van. We will certainly recommend Backroads on Trip Advisor when we return to Canada. Thank you for all your assistance, especially to Van the Man for retrieving our passports and sending them on the bus to Can Tho. We offered to pay Bobby for that service but he refused. It was much appreciated. Sincerely. 12 April 2012

Lynda & Rick from Canada

Thank you very much for your email. We enjoyed our trip with Vietnam Backroads very much. Thai was an excellent tour guide who provided us with a lot of practical information and interesting facts on living in Vietnam and in the Mekong-Delta. He was very friendly and took really care of us. Our driver was also very friendly and helpful. The restaurants and cafes on our trip were good. We enjoyed the local food and the local culture very much. There are only two small points of criticism: The hotel we stayed during the first night, in Tra Vinh, was unfortunately in a quite run down state. The walls in our room where wet and the bathroom was really not comfortable. Maybe you want to reschedule the trips a little in order to get a better hotel. Finally, I wanted to point out that our tour was advertised as a 4-day trip, however, we were dropped off at the hotel already at Saturday afternoon around 2.30 pm with nothing to do but wait until our speedboat went off the next morning. This was a bit a waste of time since we didn't know what places of interest there are in Rach Gia. So maybe you should either plan a longer biking on the last day or set up some alternative program such as sightseeing. Please understand these critics in constructive way. Overall, we are very happy to have chosen Vietnam Backroads and can fully recommend you to other people. Thank you very much. with best regards, 13 April 2012

Florian family from Germany

I took my 13 year old daughter on the trip, and she is not confident cyclist. Van took wonderful care of her, and after the first hour, I was not worried at all. The guides could not have been kinder or more helpful, answering our questions and telling us about the history and culture of Vietnam. It was a fantastic experience. 07 - 08 - 09 - 10 Feb 2012

Robin Gronoer from US

Hello Ms Hue I hope you are keeping well. Sadly, I am backing home now after my wonderful holiday in Vietnam. My wife and I very much enjoyed the Vietnam Backroads bicycle tour in the Mekong Delta - in fact it was the highlight of our time in Vietnam. Everything was very well organized and our guide took us to parts of the country that we would never have seen otherwise. To have a chance to get so close to people in the villages and those farming the rice fields was an unforgettable experience, as was the beautiful scenery that we got to enjoy. Our support vehicle and excellent driver were always on hand with drinks and cold towels, which were very welcome after a hot day in the saddle! I would highly recommend Vietnam Backroads to others. Thanks for everything and all the best for the future. 24 - 25 -26 - 27 Mar 2013

I would highly recommend Vietnam Backroads to others

Many thanks for a fantastic trip, I have to say it was one of the best experiences of our whole trip. Thang was an excellent guide - very knowledgeable. The driver was lovely too. I am emailing to ask i could buy a Vietnam Backroads jersey, I saw our guide Thang wearing one. I would like to wear it at my cycling club back in the UK! I am in Saigon for one night staying at Captown hotel tomorrow (22nd November) an sign out 23rd to fly back to the UK. I am Medium size (same as Thang). Would it be possible to get a jersey to the Captown hotel for me? Many thanks. 14th - 17th Nov 2012

Victoria Drummond from UK

There were interesting stories and knowledgeable of Vietnam shared by our guide Thang. It was a fabulous, trip but is was a little expensive. But we would like to go again when we saved enough money. I enjoyed stopping with local people having a good laugh! The food was delicious all the time, it felt like we were on a food tour not only a biking tour but on the second day we were very hungry when we came to the lunch stop. So maybe an extra snack if it takes long way before lunch. Check if the guest are hungry. In general, we really enjoyed this trip a lot and will share this as a memory for a long time. I was a little nervous before since I did not know how if all would work out, but our guide was with us all the time and the stops we made along the way were all very interesting. Especially to get to know more about local production of rice and see the fields of rice in different stages. I also liked when we stopped to talk to all different women working with crafts along the paths! Great times! Notes: The different website: - Vietnambackroads.com -Vietnamcyclingtours.com - Mekongbiketours.com and webpages which all lead to the same company was very confusing in the beginning. Not only confusing, you get a bit suspicious actually. And when the email about payment came from a totally new person and domain name than the one we have had contact with. We almost thought that there was something wrong. But it all works out then! Maybe you can get PayPal-account or safe payment over the web with credit card? All the best. 19 - 20 - 21 - 22 Dec 2014

Ylva Werlinder party from Sweden

Really enjoyed 4 day trip on the back roads. Cycle distances were great and we had plenty of stop. Dat is an excellent guide, very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. It been a great way to see some of south Vietnam. Loved the network of paths through the villages. We would never have seen that without Vietnam Backroads. The hotels were very good. The bikes were excellent. Thank you. 8- 9 - 10 -11 Jan 2015

Lee Howarth family from UK

Thang was an excellent guide. We learnt a lot from him. We wouldn't have been able to see the country in the same way without going this trip or learnt about country. So thank you! We had a great 3 days with Thang cycling through Mekong Delta! We tried a lot of new food and met many people who were very happy to share food with us, even some rice wine! 23 - 24 - 25 - 26 Jan, 2016

Laura Elizabeth Tooth family from UK

Phuc was super, nice, informative and easy guide. We would definitely recommend Vietnam Backroads and your team to family and friends. The food was lovely and too much. We liked that tour was so flexible to our needs and wishes. Overall, this is one of the best experiences we have had in Vietnam. 03 - 04 - 05 - 06 Jan, 2017

Louise Wictoria Klinker party from Denmark

Guide was very helpful and changed routes according to feedback. I loved the routes through the villages. Only criticism is I would have liked to choose my bike. Although I was the correct size for my height. I would have preferred to check before arriving at start point and have a choice of small bike. Every good 3 days! Viet was flexible with our routes and depending on our interest and/or fatigue. The hotels and restaurants reseved by the tour were good. 22 - 23 - 24 - 25 Jan, 2017 Thank you Viet and Cuong

Marc and Kathryn from UK

Cycling to Ha Tien- Speed boat to Phu Quoc

Thanks for organizing a wonderful 5 days bike trip from Saigon to Phu Quoc. we wish you have a happy and successful new year. Hope you joined a big party with all of your family members and friends. 14 April 2011

Ulrike party from Germany

This was a wonderful experience which enabled us to see Vietnam in a way we never could have alone. Dat was an intelligent, diligent, caring, truly fantastic guide. Thank you thank you thank you! Natalie Whitty, Thank you for a fantastic trip. Dat an Cuong looked after us both very well and I feel like I have seen a lot of Vietnam that would not have been accessible to me otherwise. I will certainly recommend Vietnam Backroads to my friends. Dat has been a excellent host throughout. Thank you and I hope to come back soon! Nov 1st - 5th, 2013

Natalie Whitty family from UK

Hey guys- here is my review of the trip, please feel free to publish it on your website. I'll also be sure to publish it on tripadvisor.com and anywhere else that might be helpful to you. Here it is- 'My wife and I chose the 5 day tour across the Mekong Delta. We had hoped to get to know the 'real Vietnam' and knew that by cycling, we had a good chance of getting to more out of reach places. My expectations were already high for the tour but somehow it managed to far exceed those expectations in what turned out to be a journey we'll remember for the rest of our lives. Firstly, I need to assure whoever may be reading this that Vietnam Backroads as a company is one of a kind. Van pioneered this way of exploring the delta and his routing is just perfect, balancing every aspect of country life day by day with a journey that slowly but surely continues to surprise the rider. Trustworthy and professional, have no doubts about booking a tour with them. Further to this, it is well worth mentioning that the 'service' elements to the trip are also excellent. My wife and I had our own air conditioned support vehicle, standing by and transferring luggage and supplies out of sight but only ever a short ride away. We also had the luxury of having all minor costs including ferry fares, fruit, lunch, dinner and hotels completely taken care of, something that allowed us to completely relax and fully absorb the experience. Whilst on the bikes we had expert knowledge at our disposal from our wonderful guide Loc, who would always let us decide how far we'd like to go that day, customising the experience to suit both me (a regular rider) and my wife (someone who only rides occasionally). The pace was never dictated and photos or stops were always accommodated. The paths were usually completely car free and the flat delta made for very smooth riding. The experience took in more than just cycling too... we were taken on private boats to floating markets, explored mangroves and discovered Temples and history of all kinds along the way. Meeting the wonderful people is something i'll never forget, they are naturally joyful and are openly kind wherever you happen to stop. I can still hear the kids running out to yell 'Hello!' wherever we went! The Hotels were great, naturally some were better than others but only ever where the city or town didn't accommodate as many tourists- a minor cost well worth paying in exchange for the adventure of straying from the beaten track. In summary, we had an amazing time. We ate multiple courses of wonderful food, were expertly guided wherever we went, saw places I'd never have imagined and had every comfort taken care of in a land where we were greeted with smiles and hospitality from everyone we passed by. If you are considering a trip and are not sure, just book it. You won't regret it, and whilst I am certain that all the guides are great, be sure to request 'Loc' for your trip, his kindness, knowledge and service go far beyond any guide that I have ever experienced. Book now before the secret is out!' Adam and Jeanne. December 4, 2013

Adam Harrison From Britain

I just wanted to drop you a note to let you know we had a fantastic time on our recent cycle tour of the Mekong Delta region with Vietnam Backroads. Both you & Dat were fantastic guides and made the trip a memorable one. We are more than happy to blog our experience / feedback on your web site and that of LonelyPlanet and TripAdvisor in the coming weeks. We would have no hesitation in recommending your company to other travelers or travelling with you again in the future. In fact we are already contemplating returning next Jan with our teenage daughters. Thanks also for providing the Backroads cycle jerseys and shorts. We had intended to pay for them as a souvenir of the trip, we didn't expect them for free. You are very kind. We will wear them regularly at home and take every opportunity to promote your company to others considering a cycle tour in Vietnam. 14 - 15 - 16 - 17 - 18 Jan 2014.Yours sincerely.

Lisa & Peter Lisa & Peter "theoggies"

Hello Mr Van the man I sent yesterday our note on Trip Advisor ( excellent of course ). I wrote it in French so that it may bring new bikers from french countries. It also is easier for us to express our deepest gratitude in French. So many moments filled with peacefullness and beauty are now part of our memory. Thank you for joining us those two days. Your sharp awareness for details made the journey a little more special. We are now planning a short stretch to Phnom Penh, as you know. Thanks to Ms Quang for the arrangment. By the way, we think she would be a great guide!!! May Vietnam Backroads lead you into your furthest dreams, best regards. Feb 6th-10th 2014

Isabelle et Claude Isabelle et Claude from France

Throughly enjoyed it. Dat was our excellent guide and I would recommend him to everyone. We was not have experienced true Vietnamese if we have taken a one day trip from HCMC or if we had stopped at age we towns, taken a boat trip. This trip showed us how people live, different culture belief, people in their daily lives. Beautiful landscapes and wonderful people. The truly memorial experience showed with excellent guide. 21 - 22 - 23 - 24 - 25 Dec, 2015

Patrick Swift party from UK

Cycling Vacation - Ho Chi Minh to Rach Gia

Huy was a great guide – very knowledgeable and great sense of humor. He made sure that we had plenty of food and water and local treats. I would have preferred a different hotel uncomfortable beds, no windows, but did not affect our trip overall. I would recommend Vietnam Backroads and especially Huy! Megan: Huy was a great guide! He made the trip easy. His English is excellent and he is very knowledgeable on the history and culture of Vietnam, At some times he went a little too fast for me to keep up with but other than that it was a great four day trip! 2 - 5 Jan 2012

Dave family from the US

Our guide was very attentive, knowledgeable, kind. We were in very good hands. He is a lovely person. He mad the tour special. The driver- Mr. Huy was also wonderful. We had lots of snacks, meals, drinks. All really good. The sights biking and on car and ferry were so nice, including the visits to the markets. The Mekong Delta is a unique and beautiful place. THANK YOU!...April 26, 2014

Matteson from USA