Cycling DMZ- Ho Chi Minh Trails- Coast of Vietnam

I enjoyed the variety of roads. The hotel in A Luoi was below the standard. I understand it is the best in the town. Other hotels were good with several being great. The tour guide was friendly and constantly nice and patient. 21 December 2022 - 05 January 2023

Richard Kingsford from New Zealand

We really enjoyed our trip and appreciated the flexibility of cycling distances, equally the efforts made by our tour guide to customise our trip. Everything ran on true and to plan which was really impressive.

As one small suggestion. Vietnam Backroads may wish to survey the experience/ fitness of tour guests ahead of the trip to help establish an itinerary/ distance ahead of time. We've noted this done by the tour company in the past for hiking tour we have been on. 21 December 2022 - 05 January 2023

Jane Hill from New Zealand

Biking Mekong Delta to Con Dao Island

I really loved this trip. A perfect way to see rural Vietnam. The trip was very memorable. Dat was an excellent guide.
Some suggestions (Not criticisms) which may help:
- Consider selling helpful equipment, and gloves as an extra cost
- Consider dinners as optional. They were very good but perhaps had some flexibility.
Overall the trip has exceeded my expectations.

PAUL ANTHONY JONES party from Australia. 15 - 16 - 17 December 2022

PAUL ANTHONY JONES

Cycling Vietnam to Cambodia - Saigon to Siem Reap

We are thoroughly enjoying the ride and we cant say enough good things about Hai and our driver. The cycling conditions are great, the gear and accommodations are very good, and we are happy to be here. Thought you might enjoy this. Susan doing tree pose on a monkey bridge. Having a great time. Thank you for the exxellent work on putting it together. More stories to come with Mr. Art in Cambodia.

Our cycling is going very well. While we miss Hai and our Vietnam driver, we are enjoying Art and John Wayne (our driver here). We are seeing some differences in the two countries for cycling but we are enjoying our experience immensely. Thank you, 28 Feb, 2019 - 10 Jan 2020

Michael List Party from USA

The Best Central Highlands & Southern Coast Bike Tour

Hi Vietnam Backroads team,
We are a week back from our vacation in Vietnam and three weeks after finishing the bike tour.
It was a nice bike trip. Heavier than the Mekong delta tour in 2014.
Did you receive my survey? I gave it to Vien on the day we were dropped at the airport.
I hope you could read my handwriting.
Thanks for everything you organize for us. 02-08 November 2022

Yung Nio group from Netherlands

Biking to Phu Quoc Island Mekong Delta

It was every well organized. Dat made the trip very personal and enjoyable. Really love the Vietnam history and currentt living situation, explenations. 20 - 21 - 22 November 2022

Hana & Marcus from Germany

Biking to Alluvia Chocolate- Grass jelly- Tam Hiep island Ben Tre

Phuc and Viet were both excellent. We learned a lot about Vietnam, which was very interesting- history and culture.

The food we had was the best of our weeks in Vietnam. The bikes were in excellent condition. There was always plenty of water available whenever we wanted it.

Viet fed us so much dragon fruits. It was amazing.

Phuc was a knowledgeable guide. It was a joy to have him as our guide.

Thank also to Van, who met us at our hotel to arrange payment. I will recommend this trip to anyone I know who visits Vietnam. 10 - 11 November 2022

Mary and David

Explore Rustic Countryise & Chocolate Factory

We had fabulous day tour with Van and the Backroads team into the Mekong. Great tour well organized, super knowledgable about bikes and gear. They had a flexible agenda to meet our groups needs and a great guide Phuc. The chocolate farm was amazing! Thanks Van can’t wait to do our next tour. April 2020

Family Madge-Nyren

Cycling Ho Chi Minh to Phnom Penh 3 days

My girlfriend and I had a great three day trip cycling through the Mekong delta with our guide Phuc. We had lots of fun exploring the countryside and learned a lot from Phuc's local knowledge. The border crossing by boat was well arranged and an easy way to get into Cambodia from Vietnam. The bikes provided were in great condition, and the right size for a 6'6" cyclist. We really enjoyed our days of cycling in de Mekong Delta! The bikes were of good quality, we crossed some beautiful places and nice villages and Phuc was a great guide. The boat trip to Phnom Penh went really well, so we practically have nothing to complain.

I thought that we had already dropped a review, but now we did on google and tripadvisor as well. 05 - 06 - 07 September 2022.

Lieke Anna Helena Olijslagers

Cycling to Cai Be - Vinh Long - Can Tho

We did the 3-day Mekong delta cycling tour with our family (2 adults, 2 boys of 11 and 12 years old). Our guide was Dat. We had a super trip. Cycling was great, bikes excellent and Dat was the best guide we had in Vietnam. I highly recommend the 3-day cycling trip in the Mekong Delta by Vietnam Backroads/Vietnam cycling tours!! 26-27-28 July 2022

Diederik Van De Beek

Back roads of Ben Tre- Tra Vinh - Can Tho

We were very happy to cycle 3 days with Phuc (meaning happiness!!!) because he gave us a unique impression of everyday life in the Mekong delta by not only cycling in the backyards with us but also visiting local families and pagodas. This way we had a very scenic ride and saw that beyond the main roads this area is full of beauty and surprises. The restaurants and hotels were all well chosen and the dinner in Cui Long was the best food we got during our whole 14 days trip. 06 - 07 - 08 September 2022

Jochen Staiger

Biking Mekong 2 days/ 1 night - Ho Chi Minh - Can Tho

Hi Van.

Apologies for the late reply. And thank you very much for the good wishes. We had a safe and easy flight back home and we're a bit sad that our great trip in Vietnam is over... I just got an email from Lam that our payment has been transferred to you. I think that you won't need the transfer receipt anymore from me then.
Thanks to you and your organization for the very enjoyable trip in the Mekong Delta. We had a lot of fun! All the best, Matthias. Mekong Bike Tours 09 - 10 June, 2022

Sarah and Matthias from Germany

Fabulous ride 4 days/3 nights Chau Doc - Ho Chi Minh

We (a group of four, plus our guide and driver) spent four days cycling the Mekong Delta with our excellent guide, Tha Ra. We took routes that he had developed himself, using his extensive local knowledge of the area. We spent a lot of time cycling through different farming communities, visiting farms and tasting the excellent local fruit and roadside snacks. We also spent lots of time on ferries, which added great variety to the trip! We would never have been able to complete a trip like this without Tha's guidance. We were also very happy to have the support vehicle traveling with us when one of our company got sick -- he was able to take it easy for a day or two to recover, but still meet up with us throughout the day. Also, Tha did a great job accommodating the vegan member of our group. The bikes were in excellent shape and very comfortable for the variety of roads that we traveled on. 01 - 04 January 2020

I am still dreaming about fresh pressed sugar cane juice with kumquats! I can't wait to go back to visit Cambodia!

Flora Vassar

Tha was an excellent guide. From small detailed (giving us a hotel card) to general habits (staying behind/with the last biker) to constant awareness. Always knowing when a bike would fall) to culture awareness (chatting with locals) technical knowledge and local knowledge. Tha was superlative on every point. I was never worried and never felt uncomfortable at many point. One of our group become very ill and Tha was able to make sure he was okay, changed the itinerary and adjust for his temporary illness.
But I’m living out the best part: the rides! The paths were well chosen for the beauty, food, people, experience, and nature. Perfect length, exquisite, views on path I would never find, even as an experienced traveler. 01 December – 04 January 2020

Christina McDougall Gelsone from USA

It’s the first time I‘ve been on a guided trip- usually we find our own way. This trip was excellent and I would absolutely do it again. Our guide Tha took very good care at the group and paced the trip every well. He took us to some roads where these have never been tourists!!!
Each day he took us to very different parts of the delta and it was great to see many different things in the short trip. The only thing I would skip is the crocodile farm – it was very touristy and our first got food poisoning there. The bikes were excellent and also the team of Tha as driver Loc very good. 01 December – 03 January 2020

Seth Allan Bloom from USA

Tha took really good care of my special diet needs (Vegan). We were impressed by how well Tha knew the landscape, and enjoyed going down super local roads that aren’t frequented by tourists.
I particularly enjoyed our farm shop; we visit fruit, frog, and fish farms. Tha also asked local people if we could get closer look at farm equipment like rice husking/polishing and ride harvester. Very interesting he took us to the place where we saw very interesting birds. One of our members got very sick and Loc make sure he was very comfortable on the day he couldn’t bike with us because of illness. All the bikes were really, really good quality and well-maintained. 01 December – 04 January 2020

Flora Vassar from USA

we really enjoyed the BackRoads trip in the Mekong Delta. The guide Hai was very good and tell us a lot about Vietnamese culture, history and daily life. We really enjoy the beautiful paths through the green paddy fields, small villages and wonderful nature. It really good way for our kids to interact with local people. Oscar and Mona loved it very much as well. The bikes and cycling equipment were perfect. We will come back to explore another region in Vietnam with Vietnam Backroads. 06 - 07 - 08 - 09 January 2020

Jurgen Vanhove family from Belgium

Biking to Cai Be'countryside

I just wanted to let you know that we had a wonderful day today with Cong as our guide. The bicycle riding was fun and the sights were so interesting. Cong was extremely informative and friendly. We will leave a 5 star review on Trip Advisor and my husband is going to recommend your company to his friend who is traveling to Vietnam later this year.

Thank you very much for a great day! 18 February 2020

Dr Elizabeth party from USA

Biking Ho Chi Minh - Phnom Penh 5 days

Hello

We had an absolute wonderful time! Since we live in Vietnam we already knew that it may be quiet. It gave us an opportunity to see how families gather and celebrate during this special time. Everything was perfect. We will be highly recommending this trip to our colleagues and other teacher friends in SE Asia! I will mail the comment sheet to you as I forgot to fill it out and give it to Tra on the last day.

We appreciate all of your efforts to make arrangements during the holiday.

Also, we rode bikes around Siem Reap and they were not nearly as good as yours :)

I'm wondering if you have any stickers for Vietnam Backroads? We would love a couple if you have any.

All the best, 25 - 26 - 27 - 28 - 29 January 2020

Lisa Hughes family from USA

My husband and I have just completed the most amazing 4 day cycling tour. As hypocritical as it may sound, we hate doing the usual tourist stuff and love just getting in with the local life and culture. (Having said the our tour did include some tourist stuff such as the floating market and lunch at an ancient house-the location of the French love story L’amant, which was one of our highlights of the tour). This tour hit this with perfection. Mr Van gave us the friendliest and most helpful welcome (only the start of what we were about to experience). The hotels that he booked for us where all excellent. We booked one day and left the next and (despite bing within TET celebration) we didn’t miss a beat. Everything ran to perfection. Tha was an excellent and knowledgeable guide. Not a question he couldn’t answer and was as keen to learn about us as we were about him and his countries (I say countries as we cycled in Vietnam and he is from Cambodia). Mr Lao (our van driver) was pleasant and reliable. Always waiting at the end of our rides to transfer us to our next cycle point and setting up our bikes on arrival ensuring we had water. We cycled 2-3 hours each morning and afternoon with regular refreshment stops where Tha suggested local snacks for us to try. He offered us choices of local specialities for our lunch stops and took us through a range of vistas and teraines with lots of opportunities to stop for photos or join in with local activities (helping the locals with their farming, joining in a favourite pass time of karaok-you will hear this regularly on your ride, playing football with local children or a quick cuppa with the insense stick maker, an offer we received at least once a day). Some terrains more challenging than others but all within our capabilities (we are hobby cyclists and by no means professional). The villagers are so welcoming. Always shouting “hello” and “welcome.” Even the oncoming mopeds (which you don’t see too many of) wave or high 5 you. I cannot recommend this tour highly enough. A sure way to experience local life. 30 January- 03 February 2020

Mr, Mrs Clucas from Liverpool city

Rider's Reviews