Rider's Reviews

Saigon - Mekong Delta - Phnom Penh

Dat was an amazing guide guide - Everything we could have asked for. Always taking our needs into consideration + very flexible, excellent knowledge - gave us a wonderful introduction to Vietnamese culture and people. We could not have asked for anything more. We could recommend him very highly. Absolutely amazing! Even better than expected. I really enjoyed seeing so much rural Vietnam. Dat was phenomenal and made the experience extra special. He gave perfect amount of information and was great at giving us a lot of new food to try. I also thought that he led the group very well. I really enjoyed all the scenery and all of the sights we went to. Dat was amazing! He was great at telling us knew about the culture and answering questions, great at giving us local food and we could not asked for a better tour guide. I had an amazing time but was improved a lot by Dat. 31 July - 03 August, 2016

Debbie Brockwell family of 4 from UK

My wife and I would like to pass a big thank you to the entire Vietnam Backroads team for the trip we have just had (24 – 27 DEC). It was extremely well run, well timed and well thought out. The route was fantastic and all the spots were brilliant. Special mention to our guide Viet who was outstanding. He is a great asset to your company and so well spoken with extensive knowledge about the area and Vietnam in general. He was fantastic with a special highlight being the Happy Hour beers every night after a long ride. He went above and beyond so please ensure Mr Van knows how good Viet is as well as the driver we had. 24 - 25 - 26 - 27 Dec, 2016

Chris Healey from UK

This trip had everything extremely well organised. from the mirror details which did not go unnoticed to the greater details. Everything was exceptionally well planed and very well catered for. The option to upgrade the hotels was a great idea. Viet was faultless. His English was excellent. He had great stories to share was friendly, fun and had a great sense of humour. We enjoyed happy hour with him each night and nothing was too difficult for him. We love our trip and our guide. 24 - 25 - 26 - 27 Dec, 2016

Deborah de Beurs from New Zealand

Experience Vietnam & Cambodia by bicycle

We arrived back home yesterday. Had a great time on our trip! Thank you for leaving the cycling jersey's for us at our hotel room in Chau Doc, we really appreciated those. We left our feedback form with Thai for the Vietnam portion of the trip. Overall we really enjoyed our experience. Both guides were great. Thai was extremely professional, educational and accommodating while we were there. Our guide in Cambodia, Po Leak, was maybe not as professional as Thai but was very informative, friendly, and helpful as well. The one thing that would have made the trip even better is if we were provided some kind of detailed map to follow along with where we came from and went every day that had descriptions about our destinations. I had a little trouble remembered where we were and where we were going each day because we went so many places in such a short time. Otherwise the trip was great and we will definitely recommend it to our friends. We also plan to write a review for you on Trip Adviser at some point in the next week or so to help promote Vietnam Backroads. 28 Nov 2011

Michael Jazwiecki family from US

I will send through the valuation form, very tired but wanted to send you a quick note to say how happy we all were with the trip. You and your staff did an amazing job organizing our cycling over 3 countries, 3 languages and all worked efficiently. Everyone had such a good time and I am sure I will get a few more to come back next year. Cycling Mekong Delta Vietnam Cycling Cambodia Thank you again, will be in touch. November 10, 2013 Leonie Leonie's group of 15 from Australia Cycling 10D/9N HCM - Mekong Delta - Phnom Penh - Siem Reap Overall your arrangement is very good. The back up, the food, the accommodation are all superb. And most of all the guide provided is excellent. He speak very good English, very knowledgeable, very easy to get along and very diplomatic. Great job, we definitely like to recommend to my friends. 21st - 30th April 2013 Tan Lye Hock party from Malaysia Cycling 10D/9N HCM - Mekong Delta - Phnom Penh - Siem Reap I took a rest when I choose Vietnam Backroads for myself and my team, but its the best from the internet. It turn out more than I expected and your guide Mr Thang is very professional and very knowledgeable. There is not a boring moment with him around. He made us feel very comfortable and we enjoyed our ride very much. The numerous coffee break is good and dinner is excellent. On behalf of my team, I would say "Big thank you" to Vietnam Backroads Bicycle Tours. 21st - 30th April 2013

Chan party of 6 from Malaysia

We had a most memorable time with Vietnam Backroads, we would do it again and certain would recommend your company to others. Here a few things we enjoyed as well as some other feedback. Hotels were great and trip organization was fantastic - this allowed us to focus more on the vacation/site-seeing aspect of the adventure Guides and drivers - wonderful people. The bikes in Cambodia were more comfortable than the bikes we used in Vietnam. Food was excellent but at times too much - we hate to waste food and we felt because of the large portions, we were wasting some of it. The guides in Cambodia would stop and educate us along the way about the culture, people, history, etc. The same thing occurred in Vietnam but not as much. Day to Day flexibility was perfect allowing us to ride at our own pace. We would have liked to stop at some of the smaller markets in remote towns, we missed some of those opportunities. Overall, the experience was excellent, we would love to do it again someday. Nov, 2012

Jason Kuczek and Sally from the US

We are both back home and into our normal work routines - our two weeks holiday flew by. The whole trip was very enjoyable, well organised and we would certainly recommend it. The two parts (Vietnam & Cambodia) were very different with the Mekong Delta providing the most rewarding part of the trip for me. The Cambodia part had some challenges but overall was still good. In Vietnam, Dat was a superb guide and riding with him was a great experience. He was enthusiastic and made a special effort to explain to us what we were looking at, helped us to engage with the local people and also found us a huge selection of fruit and snacks to try. I felt that he genuinely wanted to give us the best tour that he could and to show us as much as he could. He balanced his time between Tamar and us well and kept us all happy. The hotels were all OK – the Chau Doc Hotel was spectacular and (for us) it would have been good to have arrived a little earlier so that we could use the swimming pool and facilities. The only part of the Vietnam tour that we didn’t enjoy was the visit to the Khmer Rouge Killing Fields memorial. It is a painful and difficult topic and I understand why it was included with his office and arranged the trip but I am sure with a little more advance planning we could have had an even better day and visited some more out of the way places. Siem Reap is more of a tourist super highway than a back road so the end of the trip was very different to the start. The temples at Angkor are superb and Siem Reap has a very lively ‘backpacker’ nightlife which was good fun and it was a good way to finish. On a more serious note, Chek unfortunately had an accident towards the end of our first day in Siem Reap and had to have 6 stitches in his knee so he could not ride. I am very pleased to say that we saw him again on the last day and he was making a good recovery. The loss of our guide was handled very professionally. Chek found an alternate guide (Chouy) who was very good and made our next day visiting the temples very enjoyable - even if he was a bit shaky and slow on his bike at times. Our hotels in Cambodia were all fine without being great. I hope that this feedback is useful and feel free to ask for more details. We both hope that we can find a way to come back visit you all again soon. April 2, 2014

Nick and Jonathan Nick and Jonathan from Canada

We have just returned to South Africa from our trip to your wonderful country. First off let me say that our cycle experience with your company was absolutely first class. From the very beginning, when we met Thang at the airport, to when we parted company with your Cambodian guide, Art Siem Reap airport we were treated so well. Let me start at the beginning. Our initial booking and all the subsequent hundreds of emails I sent were answered promptly and with exact information. Thang is an asset to your company. Everyone absolutely loved him. He has a super sense of humor, he is courteous, well informed and always helpful. We also appreciated that we had the other guides with us. They too always looked after us. The few times one of us got lost was sorted out quickly. Our cycles and helmets were perfect. The iced towels at the end of each section of our ride were such a nice touch and so welcomed as were the abundance of cool drinks, cold water and snacks. I would recommend your company to everyone and will write an article about our experience in one of our magazines. I will also write a reference on Trip Advisor. (please let me know if you have a link) Let me also say that we enjoyed it when you joined us on the trip. Please thank Thang for us. We won’t forget him. He is a fine young man. We realised how much went into planning this trip. The driver with the bikes was always there when we rode up sweating and in need of a rest. The driver of our bus and his little assistant were so pleasant and helpful. Please let them know we appreciated them so much. Some of our party, in fact only two, found Art a little difficult to understand and I think they wrote this in their assessment of him. I, personally think they were far too critical as I found Art a wonderful guide. He too was courteous, well informed and went out of his way to see that we were looked after. I recommend him highly. Please let him know that we enjoyed him as a guide. His tour of the Anghor Wat and the other temples was fantastic. We loved riding around in that area. The cycle ride on the wall of the dam was so beautiful and we have wonderful pictures of us cycling in that area. Van, thank you for all the planning that went into this trip. Thank you for giving us Thang and Art as guides and thank you for an amazing insight into your country and its people. If I have one criticism it will be that the litter all over is out of control and if both Vietnam and Cambodia want to promote tourism the governments must go on an all out campaign to get the communities to clean up their areas. The people involved in tourism should also get together to ensure that your government takes a strong stand on this. What a pity to spoil such a beautiful place. 06 Mar, 2016

Moira Clark group of 10 from Africa

Biking Ho Chi Minh - Mekong - Phnom Penh

Thanks again for an incredible trip across the Mekong Delta! The boat ride up the river to Phnom Penh yesterday was great, and we will be continuing on up to Siem Reap tomorrow. The bicycles and gear were top notch and in very good shape. The only thing I would make sure to either recommend people bring or provide extras if they need them are cycling gloves. 25 Oct 2011

Deena and Jordan from America

This was such an incredible experience, I'm so happy we chose Vietnam Backroads Bicycle Tours. I contacted your company because of reviews on Trip Advisor and after emailing 5 - 10 different cycling tour companies. I chose Vietnam Backroads because of the exceptional customer services and dedicated attention of Quang - she is an asset to your business ! We have now finished the tour and we ave been extremely impressed by the quality & professionalism of your team. Dat is every knowledgeable and enacted . Nothing is too much trouble for him and he is a patient teacher. I'm a new cyclist still learning how to manage a bike and he has been very helpful! Cuong was very professional & friendly & always on time. I can not say enough about this this experience an d will recommend your services to friends and write a review on TripAdvisor of course! 19 - 20 - 21 - 22 - 23 June, 2014

Laura Maya from Australia

Hi Van, We had a wonderful tour filled with really good cycle guide Dat who was very helpful, friendly and full of an excellent knowledge and great recommendations for any and all our needs. Thank you to Miss Quang who was very helpful when we organize the booking and also thank to our driver and all the team from Vietnam Backroads. we will recommend your company and will post a good review on TripAdvisor as well. 19 - 20 - 21 - 22 - 23 June, 2014

David Frot from France

We named our tour " HELLO 2 weddings and a funeral" Our cycling trip from Ho Chi Minh City To Phnom Penh was an experience my partner and myself will cherish for the rest of our lives. We were blessed and most fortunate to have had Loc as our guide. The love and passion he has for Vietnam, its food, its people and their culture opened our hearts and enabled us to experience a country like never before. This young man of 25 years of age had us captivated the whole trip with his humble compassionate heart. We were stopped on our path and invited in to 2 weddings on the same day. Both involved doing countless shots of rice wine and food being handed to you from every direction. We were overwhelmed by their generosity, their interest in us but most of all by their acceptance and love. We also were invited to join a large group who for every year for a generation celebrate the passing of a loved one. Well this involved pretty much the same as the weddings, rice wine shots, food and packed you up with mangoes or coco nuts to take with you. For a country that has a lot to see like Halong Bay, Sapa, Cu Chi tunnels, Hoi An, Danang ......................... we did the tourist route. The four days riding through those remote villages with Loc is what we remember as the real Vietnam. Nov 28- Dec 2, 2014 Kind Regards

Michael Russo party from Australia

Biking adventure Saigon - Nha Trang

Thanks for the best 4 days we had in Vietnam ! we loved our tour and the enthusiasm you showed whilst guiding us. There is no way we could of seen the things we seen or done the things we did if we'd been on 4 wheels or even on foot...thanks mate. P.S. can you make sure you sort the weather out in Dalat if we come back :-) Saigon to Nha Trang 4 days. 05 Sep 2011

Trevor and Pauline from England

From Nha Trang we went to Hon Ong, where we spent three days before returning to Ho Chi Minh City and back home a week ago. In Sweden we have plenty of snow and a crisp -18 degrees celsius (see attached photos). I guess every country and climate has its own charm... Back to your question about the tour - We are very happy with our four day bicycle tour!! Phuc was a very good guide who made sure the biking and pace was up to our capacity. He made sure to stop to point out interesting things and enable us to take photos of views, coffee, tea, pepper and banana plantations. He made sure we had snacks and drink stops along the road. We got to stop and meet friendly people along the road. He took us to genuine and very good eating places and was all-over very friendly!! Hoang - our driver - was also very good. He was a skilled and very careful driver and we always felt safe with him behind the wheel. He was also very attentive and made sure we had water along the road, sheered us on and took care to wipe our eating sticks and plates when having meals. The trip was perfect for us - a mix of national park, jungle, farmland and back roads and with a one day stopover and sightseeing in Dalat. The fairly rough accommodation in Nam Cat Tien and the very good accommodation in Dalat was a good combination. We always felt very safe and we definitely had our share of adventure and sightseeing. I cannot enough express how happy we are with our biking with Vietnam Backroads Bicycle Tours. This was the best way to experience Vietnam!! We will sure recommend you to everyone who might be interested!! I can honestly not think of anything that could have been different - not even the rainy day we had between Dalat and Nha Trang. Kind regards..and please extend our praise to Phuc and Hoang as well! 2013

Cecilia & Agneta from Sweden

Saigon - Dalat - MuiNe. The ‘Hawaii’ of Vietnam

It was fantastic experience for my 2 boys and myself. Dat we could not rate more highly. He was very engaging and very informative on the Vietnam history. That we were traveling through. The fruit stop we all enjoyed. We would highly recommend Vietnam Backroads Bicycle Tours. The bikes we could not fault nor the hotels. However, I would strongly state that our fantastic experience came about through our excellent guide Dat. This attention to hygiene was brilliant. We wish Dat and your company all the very best for a successful future. Don, Ben, same Robinson. 17 -18 19 - 20 Dec, 2014

Don Robinson family from Australia

Wildlife Lovers: Bike to Nam Cat Tien National Park

Thanks again for organizing a great trip on the weekend, many good memories and photos will be taken back to Australia with Mary and Carolyn. 29 Oct 2011

Jayne Anderson party from Saigon Riverside School

Experience Vietnam from Saigon to Hanoi

Well now I am back home, unpacked and have sorted myself out. My return trip from Hanoi was smooth sailing and I had no problems. I want to say that I had a most excellent trip and it went far beyond my expectations. In fact, I can confidently say that it was the best value, best organised and best run bicycle tour I have been on, and I have been on a few. I will have no hesitation in recommending most highly Vietnam Backroads to any of my friends and acquaintances. And I shall certainly tell them how flexible you are in meeting peoples' specific needs. I agree that to get a better Vietnam experience a three star hotel is better than a four star, and certainly most of the hotels you booked us into were very satisfactory. 13 Jan 2012

Graham Bridge from Australia

The trip was fantastic, Van. Your choice of places to buy fruit, see sights and people, to eat in restaurants, and to interact with local population was exceptional. We appreciated your flexibility about length of rides and changing agendas to see sights or eat at more interesting restaurants. We enjoyed learning about the country and culture your perspective. The bike maintenance was impeccable, as were the bike refreshments. The bike equipment was high quality. We love the jerseys. Fantastic! Cycling Vietnam Backroads 13 Jan 2012

Don and I hope we can ride with you again someday! Christina

See four Unesco World Heritage Sites

On behalf of myself and my family I would like to say thank you to you and your crew for making our holiday in Vietnam a success. The itinerary you planned for this trip, both the types of riding that we did and the activities involved, fit our needs perfectly - and Dat was an absolutely excellent guide - friendly, energetic, and both very knowledgeable and very helpful. When things didn't go quite perfectly (like when the hotel we were booked into in Nha Trang was closed) we correctly had complete confidence that things would work out. Overall, your support team took great care of us. Because of the ages and commitments of our boys, this was the trip of a lifetime - it will very probably be the last time we will ever have to be together on a holiday excursion like this. I am happy to say that we picked the right country, the right company to help us, and the right tour! As I said in my written evaluation, if anyone asks, it will be easy for me to recommend Vietnam as a destination and Vietnam Backroads as a tour company. I hope that it is alright to add a couple of thoughts. On your website I see that there are some pictures and videos of various tours. I have many pictures to go through from our trip. If you are interested, after I go through them I can send you five or six of ours that you can add to your collection if you wish. A year and a half ago, Nancy and I did a bike trip in Albania that was advertised as a UN World Heritage Site tour. (also an excellent adventure) In reflecting on your tour, I wonder whether you might wish to consider using a similar title to describe the tour we took. As we visited five UN world heritage sites (more than we saw in Albania), it would be a very accurate description and perhaps would draw more attention to the tour, at least for certain people. 10 - 23 Feb, 2016

Ed Dick Nancy family of 5 from Canada

The tour was very good – an excellent way to see many parts of the country in a two week period. Dat was an exceptional guide. It is hard to think that that someone else could be better. He was very helpful in many ways, often doing more to help us than we would expect. The biggest problem we faced was arriving at the hotel and finding it closed during the Tet holiday. It was nice that things worked out as well as they did. If we were American, the tour value would be exceptional, but our Canadian dollar has fallen a lot in the last few months so I can only say good. For what we received, it was certainly reasonable. If someone else, asks me, I will recommend your company – especially it Dat is the guide. 10 - 23 Feb, 2016

Edmund Peter Dick from Canada