Rider's Reviews

Cycling Vacation - Ho Chi Minh to Rach Gia

Dat was very professional, helpful, friendly, prepared . He was fantastic. I appreciated his explanations. He was knowledgeable about the land + culture The lunch on the first day was excellent. Hotel was excellent. I really enjoyed the trip to floating market. Mr. Huy was an excellent driver and helpful with equipment. In the future, should make sure the back- up equipment is good. This time, when we had a flat tire, the spare was unusable. Bernie Brass. 26 April, 2014

Bernie Brass from united State

We enjoyed our tour very much. Our guide was very informative, we enjoyed stopping to look at scenery, fruit trees and see people making things. We loved tasting many fruits and foods. We liked the boat ride to floating markets. We appreciated the flexibility in the biking. 26 - 27 -28 Dec, 2015

Samantha family of 5 from US

Very enjoyable and good to see places that there were not many tourists. Mekong People are very friendly and welcoming. Loc shared us so many things and life interesting ways of Mekong Delta and its people. Thank you for a great trip!. 12- 13 - 14 Jan, 2015

Rowan Jessie and Jennifer Rachel Warren from UK

I would just like to say a big thank you for an amazing tour on our recent visit to Vietnam. Dat was a fantastic guide and he really brought the trip to life with interesting talks as we cycled along, it really added a lot to our trip. The rest of the team were also great as well and made sure the journey was totally faultless. We will definitely do another trip with you when we visit Vietnam again, it was the most enjoyable part of our two weeks visit to the country. 22 - 23 - 24 Oct 2015 Thanks again.

The McGroarty Family from UK

Thank you so much! We would have never seen the villages with friendly people without Phuc. We had the moment of wonderful experiences & sightseeing that we did without your cycling tour. We wish we have time to do more. Phuc was so welcoming and knowledgeable. We can’t say enough good things about the tour. Thank you for your welcoming us with open arms. 06 - 07 - 08 Dec, 2016

Julie and Matthew from US

Bike Saigon- Mekong Delta- Phnom Penh

If you have ever dreamed of experiencing a National Geographic moment, you enjoy biking, you want to see the real Vietnam, and you want to get off the beaten path then follow ‘Van the Man’ from Vietnam Backroads. , December 18, 2010

Meggies family from Canada

Thanks, this was amazing. I will rave about it. Now we have done the best bike trip in the world we can retire! Great variety of scenery. December 22, 2013 Walter Shepherd from Australia Biking 4D/3N Saigon - Mekong Delta - Phnom penh Good to hear from you. We are in HCMC today and will leave for MuiNe tomorrow. We stay at the The Luxe Hotel on 261-263 le Thanh Ton St. My wife expects to be needing size S. Would be great if you'd manage to bring one to the hotel. We had a great time cycling through the Mekong Delta. Hi Hue, We have found the shirt and short at the reception today, the are very beautiful and are a perfect memory of a very nice trip. Thank you very much. If friends of us plan to travel to Vietnam we will certainly advise them to organize a biking tour with your biking agency!2012

Klaas de Groot family from Netherlands

Thanks to Dat- our tour guide, we had more than just a backroad cycle- this was a full cultural tour including local food & I have life threatening peanut allergies and he guided me with what to eat and made sure I was ok. Great scenery, lots of flexibility to stop when we wanted to take pictures. Dat was able to explain so much to us about the way of life for Vietnamese people, rice growing, weddings, funerals, etc, all the things we saw along the way. Thanks for an amazing memory. December 22, 2013

Joanne George from New Zealand

Good combination of physical extension, interesting combination of cultural exposure & experiences, great food, excellent guide and bikes. We will recommend your services to others. Feel free to send me trip tour updates as you created more tour packages in future. December 22, 2013

Fred from New Zealand

The absolute highlight of my Vietnam trip. Fantastic way to see the country. Thang was awesome- so nice and accommodating THANK YOU SO MUCH. April 18, 2014 Nicole Floyd from Australia Biking 4D/3N Saigon - Mekong Delta - Phnom Penh For a most terrific tour everything was wonderful - your staff, the tour itself, the price, the way everything runs so smoothly.... i can go on and on. I've been to vietnam twice before but this was the best thing (not counting the food in hoi an) i've experienced. Dat was absolutely amazing - as was, Ms. Quang and of course, you! gun (spelling?) is a very competent driver although the quiet type who seems to like to keep to himself. but! when he was needed, he was there. the food was more than enough -- and some of it was quite a treat when we stopped to rest, and the hotels were very good. so thank you to everyone. please tell Dat that i will forward a few photographs to him, via you, in the next few days if i can. thank you for everything, yet again!!!. --tamar 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 April 2014

Tamar Granovsky from the US

Dat was an amazing guide guide - Everything we could have asked for. Always taking our needs into consideration + very flexible, excellent knowledge - gave us a wonderful introduction to Vietnamese culture and people. We could not have asked for anything more. We could recommend him very highly. Absolutely amazing! Even better than expected. I really enjoyed seeing so much rural Vietnam. Dat was phenomenal and made the experience extra special. He gave perfect amount of information and was great at giving us a lot of new food to try. I also thought that he led the group very well. I really enjoyed all the scenery and all of the sights we went to. Dat was amazing! He was great at telling us knew about the culture and answering questions, great at giving us local food and we could not asked for a better tour guide. I had an amazing time but was improved a lot by Dat. 31 July - 03 August, 2016

Debbie Brockwell family of 4 from UK

My wife and I would like to pass a big thank you to the entire Vietnam Backroads team for the trip we have just had (24 – 27 DEC). It was extremely well run, well timed and well thought out. The route was fantastic and all the spots were brilliant. Special mention to our guide Viet who was outstanding. He is a great asset to your company and so well spoken with extensive knowledge about the area and Vietnam in general. He was fantastic with a special highlight being the Happy Hour beers every night after a long ride. He went above and beyond so please ensure Mr Van knows how good Viet is as well as the driver we had. 24 - 25 - 26 - 27 Dec, 2016

Chris Healey from UK

This trip had everything extremely well organised. from the mirror details which did not go unnoticed to the greater details. Everything was exceptionally well planed and very well catered for. The option to upgrade the hotels was a great idea. Viet was faultless. His English was excellent. He had great stories to share was friendly, fun and had a great sense of humour. We enjoyed happy hour with him each night and nothing was too difficult for him. We love our trip and our guide. 24 - 25 - 26 - 27 Dec, 2016

Deborah de Beurs from New Zealand

Experience Vietnam & Cambodia by bicycle

We arrived back home yesterday. Had a great time on our trip! Thank you for leaving the cycling jersey's for us at our hotel room in Chau Doc, we really appreciated those. We left our feedback form with Thai for the Vietnam portion of the trip. Overall we really enjoyed our experience. Both guides were great. Thai was extremely professional, educational and accommodating while we were there. Our guide in Cambodia, Po Leak, was maybe not as professional as Thai but was very informative, friendly, and helpful as well. The one thing that would have made the trip even better is if we were provided some kind of detailed map to follow along with where we came from and went every day that had descriptions about our destinations. I had a little trouble remembered where we were and where we were going each day because we went so many places in such a short time. Otherwise the trip was great and we will definitely recommend it to our friends. We also plan to write a review for you on Trip Adviser at some point in the next week or so to help promote Vietnam Backroads. 28 Nov 2011

Michael Jazwiecki family from US

I will send through the valuation form, very tired but wanted to send you a quick note to say how happy we all were with the trip. You and your staff did an amazing job organizing our cycling over 3 countries, 3 languages and all worked efficiently. Everyone had such a good time and I am sure I will get a few more to come back next year. Cycling Mekong Delta Vietnam Cycling Cambodia Thank you again, will be in touch. November 10, 2013 Leonie Leonie's group of 15 from Australia Cycling 10D/9N HCM - Mekong Delta - Phnom Penh - Siem Reap Overall your arrangement is very good. The back up, the food, the accommodation are all superb. And most of all the guide provided is excellent. He speak very good English, very knowledgeable, very easy to get along and very diplomatic. Great job, we definitely like to recommend to my friends. 21st - 30th April 2013 Tan Lye Hock party from Malaysia Cycling 10D/9N HCM - Mekong Delta - Phnom Penh - Siem Reap I took a rest when I choose Vietnam Backroads for myself and my team, but its the best from the internet. It turn out more than I expected and your guide Mr Thang is very professional and very knowledgeable. There is not a boring moment with him around. He made us feel very comfortable and we enjoyed our ride very much. The numerous coffee break is good and dinner is excellent. On behalf of my team, I would say "Big thank you" to Vietnam Backroads Bicycle Tours. 21st - 30th April 2013

Chan party of 6 from Malaysia

We had a most memorable time with Vietnam Backroads, we would do it again and certain would recommend your company to others. Here a few things we enjoyed as well as some other feedback. Hotels were great and trip organization was fantastic - this allowed us to focus more on the vacation/site-seeing aspect of the adventure Guides and drivers - wonderful people. The bikes in Cambodia were more comfortable than the bikes we used in Vietnam. Food was excellent but at times too much - we hate to waste food and we felt because of the large portions, we were wasting some of it. The guides in Cambodia would stop and educate us along the way about the culture, people, history, etc. The same thing occurred in Vietnam but not as much. Day to Day flexibility was perfect allowing us to ride at our own pace. We would have liked to stop at some of the smaller markets in remote towns, we missed some of those opportunities. Overall, the experience was excellent, we would love to do it again someday. Nov, 2012

Jason Kuczek and Sally from the US

We are both back home and into our normal work routines - our two weeks holiday flew by. The whole trip was very enjoyable, well organised and we would certainly recommend it. The two parts (Vietnam & Cambodia) were very different with the Mekong Delta providing the most rewarding part of the trip for me. The Cambodia part had some challenges but overall was still good. In Vietnam, Dat was a superb guide and riding with him was a great experience. He was enthusiastic and made a special effort to explain to us what we were looking at, helped us to engage with the local people and also found us a huge selection of fruit and snacks to try. I felt that he genuinely wanted to give us the best tour that he could and to show us as much as he could. He balanced his time between Tamar and us well and kept us all happy. The hotels were all OK – the Chau Doc Hotel was spectacular and (for us) it would have been good to have arrived a little earlier so that we could use the swimming pool and facilities. The only part of the Vietnam tour that we didn’t enjoy was the visit to the Khmer Rouge Killing Fields memorial. It is a painful and difficult topic and I understand why it was included with his office and arranged the trip but I am sure with a little more advance planning we could have had an even better day and visited some more out of the way places. Siem Reap is more of a tourist super highway than a back road so the end of the trip was very different to the start. The temples at Angkor are superb and Siem Reap has a very lively ‘backpacker’ nightlife which was good fun and it was a good way to finish. On a more serious note, Chek unfortunately had an accident towards the end of our first day in Siem Reap and had to have 6 stitches in his knee so he could not ride. I am very pleased to say that we saw him again on the last day and he was making a good recovery. The loss of our guide was handled very professionally. Chek found an alternate guide (Chouy) who was very good and made our next day visiting the temples very enjoyable - even if he was a bit shaky and slow on his bike at times. Our hotels in Cambodia were all fine without being great. I hope that this feedback is useful and feel free to ask for more details. We both hope that we can find a way to come back visit you all again soon. April 2, 2014

Nick and Jonathan Nick and Jonathan from Canada

We have just returned to South Africa from our trip to your wonderful country. First off let me say that our cycle experience with your company was absolutely first class. From the very beginning, when we met Thang at the airport, to when we parted company with your Cambodian guide, Art Siem Reap airport we were treated so well. Let me start at the beginning. Our initial booking and all the subsequent hundreds of emails I sent were answered promptly and with exact information. Thang is an asset to your company. Everyone absolutely loved him. He has a super sense of humor, he is courteous, well informed and always helpful. We also appreciated that we had the other guides with us. They too always looked after us. The few times one of us got lost was sorted out quickly. Our cycles and helmets were perfect. The iced towels at the end of each section of our ride were such a nice touch and so welcomed as were the abundance of cool drinks, cold water and snacks. I would recommend your company to everyone and will write an article about our experience in one of our magazines. I will also write a reference on Trip Advisor. (please let me know if you have a link) Let me also say that we enjoyed it when you joined us on the trip. Please thank Thang for us. We won’t forget him. He is a fine young man. We realised how much went into planning this trip. The driver with the bikes was always there when we rode up sweating and in need of a rest. The driver of our bus and his little assistant were so pleasant and helpful. Please let them know we appreciated them so much. Some of our party, in fact only two, found Art a little difficult to understand and I think they wrote this in their assessment of him. I, personally think they were far too critical as I found Art a wonderful guide. He too was courteous, well informed and went out of his way to see that we were looked after. I recommend him highly. Please let him know that we enjoyed him as a guide. His tour of the Anghor Wat and the other temples was fantastic. We loved riding around in that area. The cycle ride on the wall of the dam was so beautiful and we have wonderful pictures of us cycling in that area. Van, thank you for all the planning that went into this trip. Thank you for giving us Thang and Art as guides and thank you for an amazing insight into your country and its people. If I have one criticism it will be that the litter all over is out of control and if both Vietnam and Cambodia want to promote tourism the governments must go on an all out campaign to get the communities to clean up their areas. The people involved in tourism should also get together to ensure that your government takes a strong stand on this. What a pity to spoil such a beautiful place. 06 Mar, 2016

Moira Clark group of 10 from Africa

Biking Ho Chi Minh - Mekong - Phnom Penh

Thanks again for an incredible trip across the Mekong Delta! The boat ride up the river to Phnom Penh yesterday was great, and we will be continuing on up to Siem Reap tomorrow. The bicycles and gear were top notch and in very good shape. The only thing I would make sure to either recommend people bring or provide extras if they need them are cycling gloves. 25 Oct 2011

Deena and Jordan from America

This was such an incredible experience, I'm so happy we chose Vietnam Backroads Bicycle Tours. I contacted your company because of reviews on Trip Advisor and after emailing 5 - 10 different cycling tour companies. I chose Vietnam Backroads because of the exceptional customer services and dedicated attention of Quang - she is an asset to your business ! We have now finished the tour and we ave been extremely impressed by the quality & professionalism of your team. Dat is every knowledgeable and enacted . Nothing is too much trouble for him and he is a patient teacher. I'm a new cyclist still learning how to manage a bike and he has been very helpful! Cuong was very professional & friendly & always on time. I can not say enough about this this experience an d will recommend your services to friends and write a review on TripAdvisor of course! 19 - 20 - 21 - 22 - 23 June, 2014

Laura Maya from Australia