Rider's Reviews

Back roads of Ben Tre- Tra Vinh - Can Tho

Van's three-day cycle tour of the Mekong delta was a truly memorable way to experience a must-see part of SE Asia. We took our three daughters (ages 9-12) who would not be described as avid cyclists and they all had a great time. I truly can't imagine another way to see and experience the life of the people of the Mekong. We took many breaks to enjoy some of the best (freshly picked and cut) watermelon, mango, banana, and coconut of our lives. We got to meet many friendly people and see a wide range of ways of life in the Mekong. The cycling is quite easy -- we were almost exclusively on paved pathways -- and Van was extremely attentive at every point of the way... We loved the biking trip. It was one of highlights from our time in Vietnam. Hope to see you again one day-- you certainly will be seeing some of our friends in the years ahead! 24 - 25 - 26 Mar, 2018

Joshua Coval family of 5 from United State

Biking Mekong Delta homestay- CaiBe

Just returned from 4 days cycling on the Mekong Delta with Mr Van. Above expectations. The guide was great fun, and looked after us. He knew of all the little paths and tracks with less traffic on them. We were plied with food, water, and the accommodation was good. Mr Van showed us the different plants and trees that were growing, and he constantly bought us fruit to try. The pace was easy but we cycled thru an amazing variation of countryside. Thanks guys for a great experience. 08 - 09 - 10 - 11 April, 2018

Garry Oliver party of 3 from Australia

Cycling to Soc Trang - boat to Con Dao

It has been the best tour that we have done whilst in Vietnam. The guides were great! Very knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. The overall, trip was challenging but we felt extremely satisfied when we had finished. We would like to say a big thank you to our tour guides! We feel lucky to have had such an amazing time and to have seen the Vietnam that is rarely seen by many tourists. 02 - 03 - 04 May, 2018

Jack Richards from UK

We have 2 weeks in Vietnam and these 2 days have been the best so far! Cong and Tha have been very friendly and helpful. The cycling was challenging but extremely fund and rewarding. We could not have asked for a better experience. We will remember this trip forever! When leaving we will miss Cong and Tha and drivers and the fantastic country of Vietnam! Thank you! P.S. Organisation was exceptional. 02 - 03 - 04 May, 2018

Lucky Evans from UK

Cycling to Ha Tien- Speed boat to Phu Quoc

Mr Lam was really great guide and our driver Loc always helping out, really with drinks and very friendly. we will definitely be referring our friends and will recommend on Trip Advisor when we get home. Thank you so much for an excellent experience. 18 - 19 - 20 - 21 - 22 Mar, 2018

Lisa family of 04 from UK

Saigon- Tra Vinh- Soc Trang- Can Tho

Hi Van, My apologies for our delay in response but we have been traveling all this time and have just returned home to Australia. This has given us time to reflect on our Mekong Delta Bike ride. It was absolutely fantastic from the quality of the cycling equipment, and the deluxe van and highly professional guide and driver. Dat, as our guide, was exceptional and made this tour a highly memorable, enjoyable and challenging trip. His knowledge of the area, his ability to personalize for our interests, the food and the different bike routes. Our driver, Mr Loc, was very professional, punctual and drove very safely through some very busy parts of the Mekong and Ho Chi Minh City. Please pass onto Dat our regards and gratitude – tell him that Jim will never forget the shave and haircut and that he now looks 10 years younger. We have already passed on your information to people in Australia so hopefully when they go to Vietnam they use your company. WE will definitely put something up on facebook and give a very high rating. 26 - 27 - 28 - 29 April, 2017

Kerry and Jim Dollman from Australia

We did a 4 day Mekong cycling trip with Dat, and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. Trip was well organised, nice hotels, good and plenty local food with lots of new experiences, good hard tail mountain bikes. Best of all though was Dat, who grew up in the area an thus knows it very well and willingly shared his knowledge. The cycling is certainly pleasant, and it’s hard to keep your eyes on the trail as there’s so much to see left and right. But having a perfect guide who can point out things that you’d otherwise miss, makes the trip special. Thanks again Dat for a wonderful 4 days! 04 - 05 - 06 - 07 June, 201

Norman Feist family from Australia

We're just back from Vietnam, part of our trip involving a 4 day tour of The Mekong Delta with Vietnam Backroads. My wife and I, along with our 14 & 11 year old sons had the most amazing 4 days touring the countryside of the Mekong Delta. From pick up at our hotel in Ho Chi Minh City to drop off at the airport, nothing was too much trouble for the team. Loc the driver, was always just where you needed him with a cool drink and Huy, who's only been with the company a short time, but was extremely knowledgeable about Vietnam and its history made an excellent team along with Mr Van himself, who's the man responsible for all the great routes we rode. While it was great to see the countryside, the highlights for us were the interactions we had with the amazing Vietnamese and Khmer people, who were extremely welcoming and friendly, if a little bit bemused by our presence. My youngest son in particular attracted lots of female attention due to his 'long nose' and white skin. Thanks to Mr Van and his team we were able to communicate with the local people and visit areas well off the beaten tourist track, where English is spoken by hardly anyone. Huy was of great help at mealtimes helping us to sample the local cuisine without getting too far out of our depth. The payback for visiting areas where there are no tourists is that you shouldn't expect luxury hotels. This was a small price to pay and all the hotels we stayed at were clean and comfortable with hot showers, which was all we were looking for. The bikes were all in great working order and we never experienced any mechanical problems. If you want to experience some of the real sights, sounds, smells and tastes of Southern Vietnam we could think of no better way of doing it than with Mr Van and Vietnam Backroads. The four days we spent with Loc, Huy and Mr Van were truly memorable and were the highlight of our 2 weeks in Vietnam. We can't wait to return and see some more of this wonderful country. 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 April, 2017

Andrew McDermott party of 4 from UK

Wow! I have visited Vietnam before but this was by far the best trip ever. We spent 4 days Cycling the Backroads (trails in meandering through jungle) with our spectacular guide Dat. Dat was a wealth of knowledge and a really fun young man. He took us places that we would never have considered venturing to on our own. The food was fabulous, the hotels were excellent and we are very happy people. Vietnam Backroads is a well organised business. The bikes are very well maintained and Dat knows how to fix anything. Do it!!! You will have the trip of a lifetime. 15 - 16 - 17 - 18 May, 2017

Allison Robyn English family from Australia

Hi Thuy, I hope you are well. Yes, we had an absolutely great time and there is no better way to see Vietnam on a bike with Vietnam Backroads. We decided to go with Vietnam Backroads because their tours are focusing on a lot of back roads and small villages. Dat, the guide, took us to all the back roads from Tan An - Tra Vinh - SocTrang - CanTho and finished at TT CaiBe for our 4 days 3 night tour. The friendliness, knowledge of Dat, and more importantly the routes designed by Mr Van, made the whole riding an incredible and memorable experience. We were able to stop anywhere and anytime we like for photos or just a quick rest. Dat also bought some local fresh fruits for us to try, we love the fresh mango and the fresh whole coconut drinks! We rode pass a Rambutan farm and the friendly farmers gave us some FRESH rambutan to try. One of the restaurants we stopped for lunch in a small town, they were serving broken rice with charcoaled pork rips. The pork rips were charcoaled on side and they were so tasty that we ordered more. We would definitely choose Vietnam Backroads for our next Vietnam trip. Dat told us about a tour in a highland or mountain, he said some day he will not see a single person on the road. I think it is called Vietnam or HCM Trial (maybe check with Dat). Can you please send us the information about this tour? We would like to find out more hence to plan for the next trip. Look forward to seeing you next time. Thank you so much. 26 Feb to 01 Mar, 2017

Nicklas and Scott from Australia

Hi Vietnam Backroads, Dạt is an excellent bike guide. He is very informative helpful but not pushy at all. He clearly loves the Mekong and loves sharing it with people. He made sure we had a lots of different experiences- The different areas the route went through, the different food styles/restaurant styles and the different fruit that taught us to eat. We really like the route selection- road types as well as the culture types and culture types that we bikes through. We like not seeing foreigners while riding.26 - 27 - 28 - 29 Dec, 2015

Diana Archangeli family of 4 from USA

This was our first time in Vietnam and we had a great time - fantastic way to see the countryside. We definitely preferred local restaurants and back road sites (esp the coconut + processing plants). Our guide really made it special for the children in the group age 12. The amount of rice was satisfactory. Great routes, Loc was excellent with our 12 year old daughter - He organized kite flying and a boat trip. We chose to do the trip like this to avoid anything too touristy. Eating local food and fruits is the most enjoyable part! Not really worried about temples and museums but the coconut factory was very interesting. 28 - 29 - 30 - 31 Mar, 2016

Christine Marie Messervy family of 4 from the US

Hi, It was fantastic experience for my 2 boys and myself. Dat we could not rate more highly. He was very engaging and very informative on the Vietnam history. That we were traveling through. The fruit stop we all enjoyed. We would highly recommend Vietnam Backroads Bicycle Tours. The bikes we could not fault nor the hotels. However, I would strongly state that our fantastic experience came about through our excellent guide Dat. This attention to hygiene was brilliant. We wish Dat and your company all the very best for a successful future. Don, Ben, same Robinson 21 - 22- -23 - 24 Dec, 2014

Don Robinson family from Australia

Dear Vietnam Backroads, Thank you for the trip - it was a real highlight of our stay in Vietnam. I posted review on Tripadvisor. We really enjoyed the trip immensly. I was thinking of what to do during 4 days around Tet (Vietnamese New Year) in Saigon and then found the vietnambackroads.com website. The Mekong delta tour - Ben Tre - Tra Vinh - Soc Trang - Can Tho, 4 days, 3 nights. Van offered us to run that trip despite Tet holidays, when everyone takes time off with family. So Van himself was our guide (we were just with another English guy) on that most unforgettable experience. Van's knowledge of the area, his ability to select lovely by-roads, and tracks, tell stories about the places we visit and local customs, and care he took of us as customer was really a key success factor. This is THE way to see Delta - you pass different landscapes (coconut region of Ben Tre, Tra Vinh rice fields, Khmer villages near Soc Trang, channels near Can Tho) and beautiful places where white guests are still a novelty. Delta people are very friendly and helpful, fruits fresh and very tasty and whole experience is almost surreal. Mekong Delta in the spring is immensely beautiful and interesting. Trip is organized extremely professionally, with back up vehicle that takes all you stuff and also takes you on boring (i.e. very busy roads) stretches, bikes new and durable, everything ready when we arrive. We stayed in hotels - and all except Soc Trang were located very well and good quality. Van arranged food (everything except for beer is included in price) - and his choice of restaurants was very interesting, though I would probably prefer more street food. It was my first that close experience with Vietnam - and for me close to trip of my lifetime. Not cheap (we paid premium because of Tet holidays), but worth every 2014

Jakub Bielikowski party from Poland

The best Mekong Delta Bike Tour

This was an amazing experience. The booking process was great with Van replying promptly to all emails. This company is very professionally run. Our tour guide Viet was very knowledgeable and showed us some amazing places that we were not aware of. This was not just a cycling tour but also a wonderful insight into the lives of the Vietnamese people. The amount of cycling each day is optional so if you are tired you can rest in the air conditioned van. I would recommend the upgrade accommodation as some of the hotels exceeded our expectation. Loc our driver ensured we had plenty of water and always greeted us with a smile. The food was plentiful and loved eating with local families. The village people were so friendly and greeted us everywhere with hello hello My husband and I are fit 60 year olds and would recommend this tour company. We are hoping to come back again another time to cycle Cambodia. Thanks Van, Viet, and Loc. 24 - 25 - 26 - 27 - 18 Mar, 2018

Mr/Mrs Irwin from Australia

Dat is a fantastic guide. He is friendly and knowledgeable. Driver is safe. The route taken is good with a variety of scenery. The bikes are good quality and easy to ride. The hotels in Tra Vinh and Cao Lanh have hard beds but overall the hotels are good. A very enjoyable trip overall. 10 - 11 -12 -13 - 14 Jan, 2017

Gautam Rao from Australia

I have the backroads. Wom, much better than I expected. Best tour ever- Dat is excellent and we were looked after perfectly. Dat is the best guide I have seen Recommend cycling early in the morning- the heat is very bad in the middle of the day. Frozen water in bottlles might be good to help with the heat. Hotels should serve espresso coffee. Highlights: - excellent guide, so friendly, so helpful - smiling, cheerful, happy driver - great bikes - Viet Cong boat trip, crocodile farm - scenery is superb - amazing routes Note: in Australia everyone say "do not eat the fish from the Mekong Delta" They are concerned that the waterways are not clear and contain human waste. Perhaps you could check this and if the fish are ok, then explain to tourists that no one has got sick. Fish is ok etc. One of four of us got sick this tour- that is not too bad. Maybe the fish is ok! April 19 - 20 - 21 - 22 -23, 2014

Sarah Thornton party from Australia

Dear guys, I wanted to thank you for arranging the most wonderful bike trip for me and my son, Ian. It was exactly what we had hoped for - beautiful scenery, great food, wonderful people, manageable biking and the best guide ever. It was a very meaningful trip for us, for many reasons, all enhanced by Dat’s wise and spiritual guidance. We were not ready for the trip to end. Thank you also for helping us arrange transportation to the Wild Gibbon Tour, which was quite an adventure. 2014 Many thanks, Judy

Judith Lee Kottick' family from US

Hi Mekong Bike Tours, Recommend cycling early in the morning- the heat is very bad in the middle of the day. Frozen water in bottles might be good to help with the heat. Hotels should serve espresso coffee I love the backroads. Wow, much better than I expected Highlights: - Excellent guide, so friendly, so helpful - Smiling, cheerful, happy driver - Great bikes - Viet Cong boat trip, crocodile farm - Scenery is superb .......Sarah Thornton from Australia ------------------------ Best tour ever. Dat is excellent and we were looked after perfectly We also love the drive hugely. He was very good Dat is the best guide I have seen I love the tour Thank you so much Dean Thornton from New Zealand ------------------ Great bicycle tour and our guide was excellent Ashley and Lynn Lindon from Australia. 2014

Ashley and Lynn Lindon from Australia

Thang was an excellent guide! Fun accommodating, very considerate and hospitable. We had a great time exploring the Mekong Delta and learning a bit about the region. December 27, 2013

Sahar Banijamali from The States