Rider's Reviews

Dolta Festival of Mekong Delta

Good program of activities- We saw so much that we couldn't have seen if were independent travelers. Dat was an excellent guide- We enjoyed his company, he had a great depth of knowledge about the various localities and agriculture which he shared very intelligently. He made the trip a gourmet experience- One that we hadn't expected- by finding new, different and safe snacks and meals at every opportunity. We are not expert, or young, cyclists and Dat varied the program and routes to suit our speed/ fitness/ abilities, so we finished each day tired but happy. We appreciated Mr Loc's driving because he was wise and cautious, sticking to road rules and making us feel safe, even in the most difficult traffic and on bumpy roads. 21 - 22 - 23 - 24 June, 2017

Robert John Stone and Kerrie Bigsworth from Australia

My wife and I set on the cycle tour organized by Vietnam Backroads. It was supposed to be a group trip but it ended up with just two of us. It appeared like a personalized trip. The whole trip was organized with seamless perfection, the initial communication, the pick up from the hotel, drive, places of stay, route planning, en route stops, food and above the back team and guide by Van and Viet. The team allowed us to enjoy every moment rather than pushing us to do more Kms. In all, we did about 125 km in three days with the fourth day being decided by us to take it easy and visit certain places of interested on the way back to HCM. The highlight of the experience is having food at local joints during the tour rather than the food tours organized in HCM. We had the chance to taste the best of both worlds. Keep up the good work Van and Viet. 21 - 22 - 23 - 24 Jan, 2018

Mr and Mrs Prabhakaran from India

Biking Ho Chi Minh - Mekong - Phnom Penh

The videos do look really good, and we really loved the trip we took with you. In terms of specific feedback, the things we look back on and will cherish the most was the simple interactions we had with the local Vietnamese people and the places where they worked and lived. Obviously every client is going to have different desires, but for people like us I would encourage more of that interaction. It was part of our failing that we didn’t know any of the Vietnamese language, but perhaps a bit more translation with some people to allow a small amount of communications would have been helpful. Thanks again for an awesome trip, and we are also looking forward to receiving the cycling jerseys from you so we can show it off to our cycling friends! : ) 24-28 May 2013 Cameron and Libby Storm from Australia Countryside Discovery Bike Tour 5D/4N The trip has been a fun and interesting experience. The guide tailor made best route to suit us. Dat has been extraordinary; very friendly, knowledgeable and keen to show us Mekong's specialties. very good English and communication skill, and very considerate. 09 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 July, 2017

Klaus Hansen & Trine Hyllested from Denmark

HCM- Can Tho- Chau Doc- Phnom Penh

Really enjoyed the tour and was the lost way to see the Mekong way of life and beautiful scenery. Phuc was an excellent guide and Viet was friendly and good driver. The lunch on both days was a great soup, early good quality local food. The bikes and equipment were good quality and we were supplied with anything we needed. Phuc was really patient with us and flexible to our needs. He was friendly and informative which enhanced the experience. The organization was good. Viet was always waiting for us at the end. Only slight disappointment was the arrival at West hotel in Can Tho, there was no record our booth and we did not feel welcome as a result. Everything else on the tour was just right. 7 - 8 - 9 Nov, 2017

Sarah Hodder from UK

This tour felt really special. We wanted some line away from the main tourist sites to see the daily life of people living in the Mekong Delta and this trip was perfect for that we saw very few other tourists on our route. Phuc had great local knowledge of the area and comfortable the bikes were excellent and we really enjoyed all the local food that we tried. Being able to do a tour of just two people was perfect for us because we could go at our own pace and decide with Phuc how far we wanted to cycle. 7 - 8 - 9 Nov, 2017

Tim Hodder from UK

Meandering the Mekong Delta 7 days

Dat was an excellent guide, giving interesting information about what we saw as we cycled. I think he was able to judge the fitness of our group and get thee daily distances about right. His choices of meal stops were good and he was keen to ensure we had enough to eat, taking into account the mixed preferences of our group( two meat eaters and two non meat eaters). The bikes were of good quality! 07 - 08 - 09 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 Nov, 2017

Sarah Noman party of 4 from UK

Dat is an excellent ambassador for the country of Vietnam and the Backdoads tour company. His knowledge of the plants and crops was great and he allowed us to stop and see, smell wherever possible. He expertly guided us through local cuisine and balanced the need of a picky vegetarian very well. I would say that some days the mileage did seem in the afternoon, about making up the distance so if might be worth offering same option will difference distance. On the cultural side Dat was very patent answering our questions and then looking for examples to show us when he saw them, this really makes us feel appreciated. 07 - 08 - 09 - 10 - 11 - 12 -13 Nov, 2017

Caroline Harnin party of 4 from UK

Meandering the Mekong Delta by bike 7D/6N We touched the living in Mekong Delta, Vietnam. It was a pleasure to take part on this trip. Unbelievable Trip! We saw so much more than we expected. We immersed ourselves in the Mekong Delta with its people, culture, foods and fruits. We did not know what to expect in the beginning and were amazed about the tour. Our bike guide and driver went above and beyond for us. Thank you for that. We really enjoyed ourselves! Its wonderful how much and how many different things we saw and experienced during this trip. 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 - 17 - 18 - 19 Nov, 2017

Mirja Mattern and Rainer Hermann Matern from Germany

Cycling to Ha Tien- Speed boat to Phu Quoc

We have just completed a five-day cycling tour from Ho Chi Minh City to Phu Quoc island. Being extremely seasoned travellers and in our 60’s (i.e. because our age and maturity), we were somewhat anxious about cycling in Vietnam where we have never been before. Well, it has proved to the best cycling trip we have ever taken! Every detail was meticulously planned and executed so that nothing was left to chance. The van was always there to meet us, where and when was prearranged. The cycles were first class and having accidentally left our gel saddle covers at home, the company obliged with another pair. Nothing was too much trouble for this company and its staff. The scenery was spectacular. By covering most of the 200 k on small back-roads no more than 3 metres wide, we hardly encountered a four-wheeled vehicle and consequently were able to pass through an unending stream of local family and business life with every turn of a corner and traverse of one of the hundreds of bridges. Dat (our guide) took us to see bricks being made in the same way as probably for 100 years. We saw the most beautiful lacquer products being manufactured, all mostly by hand. We saw and tasted varieties of fish, fruit and vegetables that even our fairly experiences palates had never met before. The five hotels at which we were booked into were all highly acceptable and two of them were as good as any we have ever stayed in. If only we could have lingered longer! On the one hand, we wish the trip could have gone on for another week, exploring Cambodia and other parts of Vietnam. On the other hand alas, our aching bodies would have probably cried out for mercy if we had chosen to go much further, but they will recover soon whilst the memories will last forever! Thank you so much Mr Van, Dat (the exceptional guide) and Loc (the utterly reliable driver). This tour company is highly recommended by us for those of you who want to experience by bicycle the real Vietnam and its’ beautiful people. John and Tina, Cyprus 04 - 05 - 06 - 07 - 08 December, 2017

John & Tina Harper from UK

Viet was an excellent, always good services and concerned for us. His English was perfect. He was fun of information and always able to answer questions. Overall the trip was superb. Loc was a very careful and good driver, we appreciated that. The only little problem was the height of the saddle of my friend. Maybe more attention should have been paid to that. 04 - 05 - 06 - 07 - 08 Nov, 2017

Julian Hewett from UK

The trip was very good indeed. It lived up to all our expectations and more. Tha choosed some beautiful routes so that the day to day tours has different contents. Very good. He took very good care of us and was very observant of our needs. So was the driver. Also very good service. The bikes were quite good and very appropriate for the purpose. The hotels were above our expectations and more upclass than we normally use. You could downscale on that part without reducing the value of the tour. The second evening in Cao Lanh we had dinner at the restaurant in the hotel. The food was good but it is a very boring place to eat. Better use an restaurant nearby. Victoria lodge was fantastic! Thanks for showing us that. In all a very good trip. We can only recommend your company. 15 - 16 - 17 - 18 - 19 Nov, 2017

Jesper Nielsen family of 3 from Denmark

We are back in Denmark again. We really enjoyed our Vietnam trip. Now we only have the memories. Especially the bicycling tour was fantastic. The guide Viet was excellent. His English was very good. His knowledge of the local areas was great. It was fantastic way to be introduced to the Mekong Delta. There was a good mix between biking, sailing, exploring, countryside’s and small villages. Also the driver was very helpful, and overall the tour was arranged so it could be flexible in biking versus sightseeing, this was good. Fantastic to see the local life in the small villages. Most of the route was narrow roads with little traffic, which we prefer. The last day had a relative long transportation section on normal road with trucks and busses, this is not ideal. Maybe better to change this to another place with small roads and longer cycling distance. We have been in 11/4/2018 Reviews tours at Vietnam Backroads http://vietnamcyclingtours.com/reviews.html 5/44 the Mekong Delta on a car trip 14 years ago where we have seen. The tourist attraction as Sam mountain e.g So we didn’t need to see this. If tourists never have been there before I think they would’ve been happy to see this. Mr Viet was fantastic and it was good the trip was flexible after us. 06 - 07 - 08 - 09 - 10 Jan, 2018

Bo Hansen family from Demark

Cycling Mekong Delta homestay in CaiBe

Thank you so much! We had a fantastic time cycling through the Mekong. Tha was the perfect Guide, friendly, helpful and always smiling. He took excellent care of us and made sure we were safe and happy all the time. The food was fantastic! We got to try lots of food we had never had before. The bikes were amazing quality and stood up to the sometimes rough conditions. The only disappointment was not seeing the floating market as it was closed, but we loved the extra long bike ride that we had instead. We would definitely book another tour with Vietnam Backroads. I will recommend on Tripavisor as I think Vietnam Backroads dose an excellent job. Thank you very much! 31 Dec, 2017 - 01 Jan, 2018

Susannah Phillips and Haley Johnson from Australian

HCM– Cao Lanh- Can Tho- Con Dao

We were keen to spend a few days in HCMC before a few more in Con Dao. Vietnam Backroads provided the perfect way to bridge the time and distance in between. We did a four-day cycling tour from HCMC to Soc Trang. Mr Cong and Van the Man were the perfect guides, providing a well-planned trip, insightful commentary, thorough service and great care – “BRIDGE! LOW GEAR! LOW GEAR!” A Mekong Delta local, Mr Cong provided wonderful insights into the country. The ultimate organiser, Mr Van charted the perfect course and helped us to renegotiate our travel plans when our ferry trip to Con Dao was cancelled due to bad weather – even letting us hitch a ride with them back to HCMC. As we were a small group, the program was very flexible and relaxed. A constant highlight was the extraordinary food that would be prepared for us in the small villages we’d pass through – often with no warning of our arrival. The bikes were modern and well set up and maintained. Our driver Mr Nghia was never far away with an endless supply of chilled water, refresher towels and his welcoming air-conditioned van! We certainly had a great time travelling and exploring another side of Vietnam with Vietnam Backroads, and recommend them to anyone keen to experience the country at the perfect pace and perspective of a bicycle. 17 - 18 - 19 - 20 Dec, 2017

Beth Beal and Alan James from Australia

Bike Saigon- Mekong Delta- Phnom Penh

Vietnam Backroads mapped a four-day bike tour experience that perfectly suited our family needs. To give some context, my partner and I were travelling with our 14- year old and 11-year old daughters. Our girls are competent riders, but prone to whinging if they have to ride for too long! So we aimed for about 40kms a day, with lunch and regular drink stops. We couldn't be happier with our guide Phuc, not only did he confidently steer us through the myriad of pathways that criss cross the Mekong Delta (he even took us through the village where he grew up), but he also shared his extensive knowledge of Vietnam and its history. An amazing way to experience rural Vietnam. 02 - 03 - 04 - 05 Nov, 2017

Matthew Foley of 4 from Australia

Saigon- Tra Vinh- Soc Trang- Can Tho

We're just back from Vietnam, part of our trip involving a 4 day tour of The Mekong Delta with Vietnam Backroads. My wife and I, along with our 14 & 11 year old sons had the most amazing 4 days touring the countryside of the Mekong Delta. From pick up at our hotel in Ho Chi Minh City to drop off at the airport, nothing was too much trouble for the team. Loc the driver, was always just where you needed him with a cool drink and Huy, who's only been with the company a short time, but was extremely knowledgeable about Vietnam and its history made an excellent team along with Mr Van himself, who's the man responsible for all the great routes we rode. Vietnam Backroads is a well organised business. The bikes are very well maintained and Dat knows how to fix anything. Do it!!! You will have the trip of a lifetime. 15 - 16 - 17 - 18 May, 2017

Allison Robyn English family from Australia

Saigon - Dalat - MuiNe. The ‘Hawaii’ of Vietnam

Hi Vietnam Backroads, we´re back in Austria and in the cold weather. I wanted to give you some feedback concerning the bike-tour. As I´ve already mentioned my husband and are were very happy with the tour and the guide although we had expected to do more biking. To tell you the truth we haven´t been aware of the fact that Dalat is so far from HCM. BUT we very much enjoyed the trip to Dalat because it was worth it and if we had travelled on our own we wouldn´t have gone there. It was a pitty that the weather was not too good but our guide, Viet, organized an interesting and varied day for us and he showed us a very nice and hidden restaurant in Dalat which we would never have found without him. There we learned how to prepare the Vietnamese spring rolls J. The hotels of the tour were very nice, especially the one in the jungle! You should keep this as a fix part of your tours. Viet was a very good guide and also our driver was very kind and always helpful. 25 - 26 - 27 - 28 Dec, 2017

Vera Bachleitner Party from Austria

Cycling Vacation - Ho Chi Minh to Rach Gia

We did the HCMC -> Phu Quoc "3D 2N" (really 2D 2N), which was overall fabulous. The roads were excellent with few motorbikes and varied terrain. The tour itself was beautiful. Our guide Cong was very accommodating, nice, knowledgeable, and flexible to our needs. It was great to have a home cooked lunch at his family’s house. The bikes themselves were in great shape, and the van was also very comfortable with a great driver. I give 4 stars instead of 5 because of two main issues. First, while Cong was wonderful, he didn't quite have the humor reflected in the reviews of some other guides (though I think part of this may be that I often had a hard time understanding his English). Secondly, the owners of the company emphasized that every trip is flexible and distance per day can be tailored to what you want - I really had to advocate for biking more than 40km/d on our trip. In the end, Cong accommodated this on the second day, but I had to push for it. If you want longer distances, I recommend you email ahead of time to see if what you want is possible, then reiterate this again with your guide on day 1 of your trip. Overall, very worth it and a great way to see the Mekong delta. 20 - 21 - 22 Jan, 2018

Lindsey Wuu family from US

Biking Mekong Delta homestay- CaiBe

The roads were fine, the distances were right for us, we would come again another year, and the hotels were all good. The only surprise was the evening meal in Can Tho as we felt we could have had better food from a street stall. That is a very small point on a very good holiday indeed. Please pass on our thanks to Phuc Tran who was an excellent guide and who we would recommend to others, as we would with Vietnam Backroads Bicycle Tours. Softer saddles next time please! Many thanks for organising this for us - it was great. 27 - 28 Feb to 01 - 02 Mar, 2018

Best wishes Grant Kelly family of 3 from UK

Cycling Mekong Wetland - Xeo Quyt - Sadec

We really had a great time. Viet was an excellent guide and ensured that the route we took was suitable and fun for all of us. The food was fantastic throughout the whole trip and we enjoyed the environment that we cycled through. Viet also made us a video reminder of our trip, which was a really nice touch. Also, when we were transferring between cycling locations in the van, we felt very comfortable as there was so much room and safe as the driver was excellent. I asked the girls and we couldn’t think of anything negative to say at all. We enjoyed the whole trip immensely and will be sure to recommend it to our friends. I wish we did a longer tour, I had so much fun. They were both great and friendly but Viet was such a great guide and also great company. The bikes were perfect quality, the rides were doable for the youngest but not too tame for me and mum, there were also activities in between that we interesting and fun as well, the food along the way was delicious (my sister and I are both vegetarian so we all ate vego the whole time and there was way too much (amazing) food each time.) Accommodation wasn’t amazing but all your doing is sleeping then you’re off again so it wasn’t a big deal. All in all, awesome trip, best way to see the Mekong Delta, can’t rave about it enough! 29 - 30 Mar, 2018

Karen Donnelly family of 4 from Australia