Rider's Reviews

Biking to Cai Be'countryside

I just wanted to let you know that we had a wonderful day today with Cong as our guide. The bicycle riding was fun and the sights were so interesting. Cong was extremely informative and friendly. We will leave a 5 star review on Trip Advisor and my husband is going to recommend your company to his friend who is traveling to Vietnam later this year.

Thank you very much for a great day! 18 February 2020

Dr Elizabeth party from USA

Biking Ho Chi Minh - Mekong - Phnom Penh

Hello

We had an absolute wonderful time! Since we live in Vietnam we already knew that it may be quiet. It gave us an opportunity to see how families gather and celebrate during this special time. Everything was perfect. We will be highly recommending this trip to our colleagues and other teacher friends in SE Asia! I will mail the comment sheet to you as I forgot to fill it out and give it to Tra on the last day.

We appreciate all of your efforts to make arrangements during the holiday.

Also, we rode bikes around Siem Reap and they were not nearly as good as yours :)

I'm wondering if you have any stickers for Vietnam Backroads? We would love a couple if you have any.

All the best, 25 - 26 - 27 - 28 - 29 January 2020

Lisa Hughes family from USA

My husband and I have just completed the most amazing 4 day cycling tour. As hypocritical as it may sound, we hate doing the usual tourist stuff and love just getting in with the local life and culture. (Having said the our tour did include some tourist stuff such as the floating market and lunch at an ancient house-the location of the French love story L’amant, which was one of our highlights of the tour). This tour hit this with perfection. Mr Van gave us the friendliest and most helpful welcome (only the start of what we were about to experience). The hotels that he booked for us where all excellent. We booked one day and left the next and (despite bing within TET celebration) we didn’t miss a beat. Everything ran to perfection. Tha was an excellent and knowledgeable guide. Not a question he couldn’t answer and was as keen to learn about us as we were about him and his countries (I say countries as we cycled in Vietnam and he is from Cambodia). Mr Lao (our van driver) was pleasant and reliable. Always waiting at the end of our rides to transfer us to our next cycle point and setting up our bikes on arrival ensuring we had water. We cycled 2-3 hours each morning and afternoon with regular refreshment stops where Tha suggested local snacks for us to try. He offered us choices of local specialities for our lunch stops and took us through a range of vistas and teraines with lots of opportunities to stop for photos or join in with local activities (helping the locals with their farming, joining in a favourite pass time of karaok-you will hear this regularly on your ride, playing football with local children or a quick cuppa with the insense stick maker, an offer we received at least once a day). Some terrains more challenging than others but all within our capabilities (we are hobby cyclists and by no means professional). The villagers are so welcoming. Always shouting “hello” and “welcome.” Even the oncoming mopeds (which you don’t see too many of) wave or high 5 you. I cannot recommend this tour highly enough. A sure way to experience local life. 30 January- 03 February 2020

Mr, Mrs Clucas from Liverpool city

Cycling Mekong Chau Doc to Ho Chi Minh

Tha was an excellent guide. From small detailed (giving us a hotel card) to general habits (staying behind/with the last biker) to constant awareness. Always knowing when a bike would fall) to culture awareness (chatting with locals) technical knowledge and local knowledge. Tha was superlative on every point. I was never worried and never felt uncomfortable at many point. One of our group become very ill and Tha was able to make sure he was okay, changed the itinerary and adjust for his temporary illness.
But I’m living out the best part: the rides! The paths were well chosen for the beauty, food, people, experience, and nature. Perfect length, exquisite, views on path I would never find, even as an experienced traveller. 01 December – 03 January 2020

Christina McDougall Gelsone from USA

It’s the first time I‘ve been on a guided trip- usually we find our own way. This trip was excellent and I would absolutely do it again. Our guide Tha took very good care at the group and paced the trip every well. He took us to some roads where these have never been tourists!!!
Each day he took us to very different parts of the delta and it was great to see many different things in the short trip. The only thing I would skip is the crocodile farm – it was very touristy and our first got food poisoning there. The bikes were excellent and also the team of Tha as driver Loc very good. 01 December – 03 January 2020

Seth Allan Bloom from USA

Tha took really good care of my special diet needs (Vegan). We were impressed by how well Tha knew the landscape, and enjoyed going down super local roads that aren’t frequented by tourists.
I particularly enjoyed our farm shop; we visit fruit, frog, and fish farms. Tha also asked local people if we could get closer look at farm equipment like rice husking/polishing and ride harvester. Very interesting he took us to the place where we saw very interesting birds. One of our members got very sick and Loc make sure he was very comfortable on the day he couldn’t bike with us because of illness. All the bikes were really, really good quality and well-maintained. 01 December – 03 January 2020

Flora Vassar from USA

we really enjoyed the BackRoads trip in the Mekong Delta. The guide Hai was very good and tell us a lot about Vietnamese culture, history and daily life. We really enjoy the beautiful paths through the green paddy fields, small villages and wonderful nature. It really good way for our kids to interact with local people. Oscar and Mona loved it very much as well. The bikes and cycling equipment were perfect. We will come back to explore another region in Vietnam with Vietnam Backroads. 06 - 07 - 08 - 09 January 2020

Jurgen Vanhove family from Belgium

Cycling to Phu Quoc Island- Stay on beach

Hello Vietnam Backroads!

The trip was very enjoyable. The guide Vien was very friendly and explained everything along the way. Vien also was able to see when we were tired and needed a break which ensured we were always in high spirits. The cycling itself was very enjoyable and the backroads allowed us see the real Vietnam. Finally I would like to mention that Vien and our driver went to great lengths to ensure our evening meals were interesting, local and a true cultural experience.
Thanks for everything . 19 - 20 - 21 - 22 January 2020

Jack Nolan family from Ireland

Cycle Vietnam to Cambodia

We very much enjoyed our time in Vietnam cycling through the stunning countryside. We saw places that no other tourists go and this was indeed very special. Cambodia was also very interesting and the guide was very good. He explained the culture and sights very well. However cycling on the main roads in Cambodia did not compare to our wonderful experience in Vietnam. Cycling through Angkor Wat and other temples was however exceptionally nice.

We will definitely recommend going on a trip with you to our friends and family. This was a holiday we will remember for a very long time.

Thank you again for showing us the real Vietnam. 04 - 13 January 2020

Monika Saunders party from Germany

Meandering the Mekong Delta 7 days

I can highly recommend this company. Very professional from the moment we booked, always answering our questions promptly. We had a brilliant guide Tha who was such fun and very professional. We did a 7 day cycle tour around the Mekong delta which took us as far as the coast and also the Cambodian border. Each day was different from the last and took us through beautiful vegetation and scenery. I really feel we got a good insight in to the real Vietnam. The hotels we stayed in ranged from basic to luxury, depending on the area we were in. Plenty of opportunities to try the food and local snacks. Cycling ranges from 2 hours to 6 hours a day, depending on itinerary. A well organised trip. 06 - 07 - 08 - 09 - 10 - 11 - 12 January 2020

Tracy Harmon party from UK

Just completed 7 day bike ride led by Phuc and van driver Loc. Mountain bikes were excellent as was the organisation of hotels, transport and meals.

The Mekong Delta is such a productive area on each day’s ride we saw something different as we meandered on our bikes through the villages on the backroads.

Phuc Le, our leader was a fountain of knowledge on not only the fruit and vegetables being grown in the delta but also on the history of Vietnam.

The guided bike trip exceeded all expectations and I would highly recommend it and Vietnam Backroads. 15 - 21 December 2020

Alison from Australia

Hello Van,

Our ride is now over and we take with us many great memories and lots of photos! Your staff Phuc Le and Loc were a terrific team. Phuc is extremely knowledgeable and communicative. I did mention a few small things to you this afternoon, and others may come to us in the next few days, while we are still in Saigon. If one thing stands out as missing, it was that we didn't receive Vietnam Back roads jerseys. We would've been proud advertisement's for your business back in Melbourne where we ride weekly with different groups...was that an oversight or should we have ordered them with the tour?

I wish you continued success with your business and will definitely consider other rides in the future. 15 - 16 - 17 - 18 - 19 - 20 - 12 December 2019

Regards

David Collison
Mobile: +61-409400.......
Email: drcollison@.........

David and Alison from Australia

Cycling Mekong Delta HCM to Ha Tien

Amazing trip surpassed expectations.
Bikes good quality and well maintained- we even travelled with a bike mechanic, and bikes were cleaned and serviced daily. Our guide was Phuc (happiness in English ) he was excellent, very knowledgeable and good fun- and lived up to his name.
Lunch was provided every day and always tasty the best was the authentic Vietnamese.
Day 1 small van trip and 25km cycle to Chu Chi tunnels, cycle through rubber plantations and stopped at rice paper making industry.
Day 2 we started cycling the Mekong Delta, another 45mins In van then started cycling, through rice fields, dragon fruit plantations and magic mushrooms !
Dinner was at the homestead - which was lovely with a swimming pool and air conditioning in room.
Day 3 delivered some different scenery and again our guide was great taking lots of photos of our whole family. Our hotel in Can Tho was smart and the city very busy, it was good to have the evening meal booked.
Lovely restaurant - but again we all preferred the traditional non- touristy cafes ! The next morning we went round the floating market - very interesting.
Day 4, great cycling we were all glad of our padded cycle shorts ! This is the night in Long xuyen where our best meal was - great food, and lovely eating with happiness(our guide). 25 - 26 - 27 - 28 - 29 November 2019

Jez Sherman of 5 from New Zealand

Cycling Ho Chi Minh to Phnom Penh 3 days

For a unique and adventurous cycling experience from Ho Chi Minh to Phnom Penh we highly recommend Vietnam Backroads. Our guide Van led our family of four throughout the trip. Van insured our care by providing a personalized and flexible tour according to our abilities and interest. We experienced rural life along the Mekong delta, stopping to eat fruit from local farmers, catching ferries with local, saying hello to many children, meeting a family, seeing duck herders, rice farmers, building, irrigation, floating markets and learning about life for people during monsoons and dry seasons. We stayed in comfortable hotels at night and the whole trip was supported by private transport of our luggage. An unforgettable experience all around. 03 - 04 - 05 January 2020

Sophie and family from Columbia

Cycling to Cai Be - Vinh Long - Can Tho

We did a 3 day 2 night tour of the Mekong. It ended up just being myself and my wife for the tour but our guide Dung was wonderful and it felt like we had another friend with us on the tour. The cycle tour itself was just perfect - about 20-30km per day of easy cycling on flat ground through lovely scenery. You can tailor this as required depending on fitness levels. It was a great way to see the more rural way of life in Vietnam. The home stay was excellent and included a cooking class which was good fun! Dung brought us for lunch and dinner every day and the food was wonderful! Our driver Mr. Loc was excellent also and navigated without an issue.

Thanks for a great tour! 27 - 28 - 29 December 2019

Elaine Martyn from Ireland

We had a wonderful trip. Mr Dung was an excellent tour guide who was very informative, knowledgeable, organised and also kind and funny. He really made the tour a stand - out experience for us and it is a highlight of our 4 week holiday to Cambodia + Vietnam.
Mr Lok is a very good driver and got us from Saigon to Can Tho and back with no problems. He was always on time with many cold bottles of water ready.
We loved the homestay on An Binh + all the food stops combination with Kieu before the trip was great.
One comment would be and it would be wonderful if you could make payment by Paypal or Stripe for the tour. 27 - 28 - 29 December 2019

David Duggan + Elaine Martyn from Ireland

Biking Mekong Delta to Phu Quoc Island

4 of us booked Vietnam Backroads to do some cycling starting from HCMC and finishing up at Phu Quoc over a 4 day period. A mix of cycling and van with enough time to take in some local cultural visits. Our Guide was extremely knowledgeable, and good fun. Having the van with a driver within reach of us also made it very easy. Arrangements were well managed and the whole trip was a great experience. 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 November 2019

Andrew Clive Southern party from UK

Touring the Mekong Delta and Phu Quoc Island

Dear Mr Van,

Thank you for taking care of us all to the finest detail. You are certainly in right job and we are grateful to you and your professionalism.

Thank you to you and your team for all your hard work organising + looking after us ... and thank you for sharing your beautiful country. 04 - 15 November 2019

Fiona party of 14 people from Australia

Cycling Mekong Delta to Phnom Penh

Mr Viet Tran really made the trip exceptional for us, he is a great guide- he know so much about Vietnam and he has a great sense of humour. Our driver was also very good, we felt safe with him and he was welcoming.
The tour was very interesting with a good variety of things to see. The local people especially the children, were very friendly and it was delight to meet them. It felt like we were meeting "real" people and seeing their lives, rather than something which was just touristy.
The food was excellent and Mr Viet was very good at showing us the best things to try and how to eat them. The hotels were good although the government hotel was more "basic" - still it was an interesting place to stay.
Thank you for a great trip - We will definitely write a good review on Tripadvisor for Vietnam Backroads. 03 - 04 - 05 - 06 December 2019

Simon Eliot Cox from UK

We had a great time with Vietnam Backroads, cycling three days from Saigon to Phnom Penh.

Viet Tran was our guide and he was exceptional, very knowledgeable, friendly and funny. Our driver was also good, very safe and calm.

The trip allows you to see real life in the Mekong Delta, it's really very interesting and feels authentic rather than a spin on the usual tourist merry go round.

Hotels, bikes and food were all great! Viet Tran was really good at selecting local specialities for us to sample.

Be aware that when you book you will need to pay a deposit on the phone. The company are 100% legit and reliable so don't let it put you off. 03 - 04 - 05 - 06 December 2019

Sally Tate party from UK