Cycling 3 days/ 2 nights Hue - Lang Co Beach - Hoi An

We are now home in New York (where it's cold!), and i wanted to thank you for an excellent trip. Everything worked out very well, and Mr. Thieu was a wonderful guide and travel companion. 08-12 January 2024
All best,
Daniel

Daniel Kaizer Party from United State

Biking adventure Saigon - Nha Trang

Just finished an amazing adventure with Vietnam Cycling Tours. Couldn’t recommend them enough for their organisation from beginning to end. We went on a 4 day tour from Saigon to Nha Trang via Dalat Our guide, Vien, was so warm and friendly and, even though the roads in Vietnam can be a bit frightening, Vien always made us feel safe. Will definitely do another tour with them! 20-23 December 2023

Belinda Seydel family of 4

Cycling Hue -DMZ- Khe Sanh- A Luoi 4 days

We have come back from the most amazing four days with Mr Ky and Mr Vu! We did the DMZ tour, visiting many historical sites and learning a lot about the history of Vietnam through the years. The cycling each day was incredible, lots of variety (some days we rode flat rides where we could admire the scenery and see the country life in Quang Tri and the Hue suburbs, one day the riding was intense as we rode the Ho Chi Minh trail but the views along the way were certainly worth the effort!). It was a pleasure to be on the tour with Ky and Vu - the planning each day was meticulous and lots of thought from them both went into making sure we got the most out of each day. We had a great time riding, trekking and touring museums with Mr Ky, and at every stop Mr Vu was ready and waiting with snacks, cold drinks, towels and everything that we needed. We also enjoyed the local food and Mr Ky helped us to try some foods we wouldn't have known to order but were amazing! We cannot recommend doing this tour enough (and many other tours are available with this company if the DMZ itinerary doesn't suit) and if either or both of Ky and Vu are your guide or driver for your trip I can assure you you will be in very safe hands and well looked after! We will look to do more tours with VCT when we next return to Vietnam! 11 - 14 December 2023

Dominic Foo from UK

Hi Ms Tam

Well we have just had the best few days with Mr Ky and Mr Vu! They looked after us superbly for the whole time, always making sure our bikes were working, we had food, water, cold snacks and towels after the rides and also gave us an amazing overview of the areas we were travelling in and the history both recent and more ancient in the areas we were in. We also ate some fantastic new foods with them and could not have had a better time or a better pair of people looking after us!

The scenery we saw when riding was incredible and we cannot recommend this tour enough. Please let me know if you have any preferred sites where we can leave a review of the company, tour we completed and also of how wonderful Mr Ky and Mr Vu are to spend time with! 11-14 December 2023

Thank you again

Mr and Mrs Foo from UK

Cycling Ho Chi Minh - Cao Lanh - Phu Quoc islands

Dear Phuong Tam
I just wish to report how much we enjoyed our cycle trip in the Mekong Delta. The organisation was excellent and we were able to appreciate this part of your beautiful country. Mr Phuc was a great guide and Mr Thanh an excellent driver. The accommodation and food were both really good quality.
We will recommend your company to all of our cycling friends.
If you would like us to post a review somewhere please let us know. 03 - 08 December 2023
Best wishes
Robin

Dr. Robin Youngs' family of 4 from UK

Biking Siem Reap to Ho Chi Minh 12D/11N

1. Bike seats for women! I got very sore riding with a regular bike seat. (I didn't tell Poleak because I didn't know we could do anything about it.) Once I got a different kind of seat (in Vietnam), I was WAY more comfortable. I guess women need a different kind. Maybe you could make some women's seats available. I'm attaching a picture of the comfortable seat.

2. Most of the hotels were great, especially the eco-lodges and the colorful one in Phnom Penh. The only hotel that wasn't great was the River Hotel. Just thought I'd let you know. People were nice but the hotel was a little run down and the street noise in the morning.

3. 12 days is a lot of days to ride, unpack, pack and ride again. Maybe you want to offer a "down day” in the middle of the trip where the clients stay in same place for two nights in a row. People can have the option to ride that day leaving and returning to the same place, or not ride. Just an idea! 05 - 16 November 2023

Mare Schumacher from United State

We cycled through rice fields with egrets, we ate lunch under a thatched roof and rested in hammocks, we saw how rice noodles are made, how water buffalo walk into water up to their necks, how school kids get to school and how they yell "HELLO!" to Western cyclers, tasted numerous fruits and vegetables. Our guides made safety a priority and we did not ride into the busy cities (van carried us and our bikes). Our guides were very knowledgeable in Cambodian and Vietnamese history, customs, etc. and were super helpful and friendly. Hotels and meals booked by the tour were outstanding. The guides will alter the pace or amount of riding based on the clients wishes so it can adapt to your needs. Ask for Poleak in Cambodia and Huong in Vietnam. Both are professional and delightful. We did 12-day Angkor Wat to Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon) ride. 19 November 2023

Luis A. Fernandez party from Canada

Cycling 4D/3N Mai Chau - Pu Luong - Cuc Phuong - Tam Coc

Long was a very good guide, I enjoyed his company.

The bikes were good quality too and well maintained.

Considering the tour is on the expensive end, I did question the accommodation decisions a bit.
I personally enjoyed the more basic home stays (despite it making my evening of work quite difficult 😅), but others in the group did not.
Perhaps you should ask the client what their preference is beforehand?

Also, I think the boat trip at Tam Coc was unecessary too. I have already done it before & would have preferred more cycling.
But I'm sure this is a nice addition for those who have never visited Vietnam before, so it's hard to stay what is best.

Overall a very good experience =). 14 - 17/11/2023

Sam Woodcock from UK

Biking Hanoi to Mai Chau 2D/ 1N

It was amazing! 😄Thank you for asking!! I had a really great time 😊 And will definitely reccomened your group to others! Thank you again for all of the time spent organizing and to Ms Tam and Chris! :))) 21 - 22 October 2023

Isabel Wu from UK

Ho Chi Minh to Phu Quoc Islands by Bike

Greetings

We have almost finished our cycling trip and want to express our gratitude 🙏.
We both have enjoyed it very much.

Hoang has been exceptional 👏. He has that balance between being very professional but relaxed and nice all at the same time. Both Hoang & Boc ( driver ) both went out of their way to be helpful, kind, supportive and friendly.

We can't say there was anything bad about the trip and will be highly recommending your Company to friends & family.

Thank You for all the background support. You did a fantastic job organizing and directing from my very first enquiry. Very professional 👏 !!!!
05 - 08 October 2023
Regards
Robyn Walker
Sarah Gilbert

Robyn Walker & Sarah Gilbert from New Zealand

Cycling Mekong Delta to My Tho

We had a great day with him 😄 he really made it special
Also by explaining a lot and so well… thank you very much for this wonderful experience 🙏

Maybe something to consider if you go with children/teens, to include a swim somwhere if possible. As it can be really hot & hard so that would great.

In case that’s not possible maybe a longer boat tour or something ‘spectacular’ for their age.

All the best, what a beautiful country is Vietnam 🇻🇳 24 August 2023

Petra Family from Netherlands

Cycling Ho Chi Minh Trails & Coast of Vietnam

The bike trip Hanoi - Nha Trang was fantastic and unique in all aspects.
Excellent guides, high quality bikes, always small roads without traffic, concrete paths, dirty tracks, very varied picturesque scenery, deep insights into the authentic life, very welcoming locals, delicious food.
Mr. Van and team of Vietnam Cycling Tours are THE tour operator for Indochina. extremely reliable and innovative from the planning to the last day of the trip. we highly recommend this great experience and look forward to further biking trips with them.

The almost new hardtail bikes are very well maintained, equipped with perfect tires for the ground conditions and handlebar bags. We enjoyed them a lot. Thanks also for the very comfortable handlebar grips. Both drivers and both guides always loaded the bikes very carefully and efficiently into the car.
The very carefully evaluated bike routes lead through picturesque areas, along rivers, through villages with a lot of life. We rode exclusively on small roads without traffic, concrete paths or dirty tracks. We are amazed by these stunning routes and highly appreciate your dedication to find them. In dense traffic and in urban centers we rode in the car, even if it was only for 5 - 30 km, on a few days even several times. Thank you so much that you took on this loading work again and again without us asking you even once. this is high class service for us, and we are very grateful that we didn't have to bike on busy streets.
The surroundings of the approx. 1,300 km southbound route are very varied. Big city Ha Noi, Halong Bay, huge caves, rice fields in growth, green areas with herds of buffaloes and cows, shrimp, fish, oyster and pearl farms, forests, lagoons, duck farms, melon, peanut and rice fields in harvest time, provincial cities, mountain villages and fishing villages, big markets. We saw soooooo many things – incredible. I’m so happy we took a lot of photos, so that we can remember all of them.
In the Halong area, we visited a more distant bay on a spacious beautiful cruise ship and stayed overnight there with only 7 other ships. This is in contrast to the closer Halong Bay, where 200 day-boats and 300 overnight boats are bustling around, according to the cruise guide. We were fascinated by the beautiful, overgrown rock formations and the tranquility. We especially appreciated our luxury corner cabin with windows on 2 sides and a balcony. Thank you so much for choosing the quiet part of Halong Bay for us.
Back from Halong Bay, we enjoyed our room in the afternoon at the beautiful Authentic Hanoi Boutique Hotel in the old town of Ha Noi until guide Cuong picked us up for dinner and transfer to the train station. It was so nice for us to take a rest and shower in our private room. Receiving a hotel room only for a few hours use, that's not something you can take for granted everywhere.
The 500 km night train ride from Ha Noi to Dong Hoi was fun and we enjoyed our neat four-bed cabin for two very much.

In Central Vietnam, the manual harvesting of rice and peanuts, the threshing and drying of the rice grains and peanuts on the road, the wooden carts pulled by buffaloes and the digging of the fields with cows were very impressive for us. everywhere we could stop and watch extensively. We adored that. after the weather divide on the Hai Van pass, smaller combines and tractors were used for the rice harvest in the hotter southern part.
Guide Cuong and driver Hiep - responsible for Ha Noi and northern Vietnam - as well as guide Dat and driver Viet - responsible from Dong Hoi to the Mekong Delta - are all extremely helpful, circumspect, cheerful, well-versed in the area, flexible and very professional. Cuong and Dat speak very good English and conversations with them were very interesting. They are happy to share their vast knowledge of flora, fauna, culture and history. They immediately implemented our wishes, e.g. regarding sightseeing, restaurants. Thus, we always enjoyed very authentic meals in very small restaurants and cook-shops. Often, besides the guides, also driver Hiep ate with us. We appreciated this very much and we laughed a lot. The commitment of the four guys to us was tireless. We always felt extremely well taken care of and comfortable with them.
Our very nice deluxe rooms were in dignified local **** hotels or even ***** hotels of international chains. without exception uniquely located within walking distance of exciting city centers, big markets, seashores. Never would we have expected such accommodations.
The encounters with the local people were very impressive and touching. We especially liked the villages and towns with practically no international tourism, where the locals looked at us with big eyes and giggled as we walked by. The two guides helped us communicate a lot with the locals. This immersion into the real Vietnam fascinated us very much.
This trip is a once-in-a-lifetime experience. For us, absolutely everything was amazing and perfect from the very beginning to the very end.
A huge thank you to Mr. Van, Cuong, Hiep, Dat, Viet and the whole Vietnam Cycling Tours team.
We will recommend you to our friends and hope to travel with you again.
Cathy and Daniel

Daniel Party from Switzerland

Biking Phnom Penh to Saigon - Cycle Cambodia to Vietnam 5D/4N

The videos do look really good, and we really loved the trip we took with you. In terms of specific feedback, the things we look back on and will cherish the most was the simple interactions we had with the local Vietnamese people and the places where they worked and lived. Obviously every client is going to have different desires, but for people like us I would encourage more of that interaction. It was part of our failing that we didn’t know any of the Vietnamese language, but perhaps a bit more translation with some people to allow a small amount of communications would have been helpful. Thanks again for an awesome trip, and we are also looking forward to receiving the cycling ferseys from you so we can show it off to our cycling friends! : ) 24-28 May 2013
Cameron and Libby Storm <cameron.storm@-------

Cameron and Libby Storm from Australia

Cycling Vietnam to Laos - Ha Noi to Luang Prabang

We did a bike trip with Vietnam Backroads 10 years ago for my 50th bday and decided to do TWO trips for my 60th. (Mekong Delta+PhuQuoc 14 days and Sapa,Vietnam to Luang Prabang, Laos 11day/10nights)

ABSOLUTELY best time ever. Mr. Van and his team of experienced and professional guides delivered two terrific, bespoke experiences, each one highlighting the food, culture, and sights of the regions we visited in a way we felt was only possible because we choose a local company. Because we had done a trip in the Mekong in 2013, we wanted a slightly different route this time around. With our AMAZINGLY knowledgeable and kind guide Mr. DAT, we absolutely saw new places, particularly enjoying the area near the Cambodian border towards the end of our biking and the first night outside of Saigon at the Coco Riverside Lodge. Mr. DAT made our trip extraordinary. We ended our first tour with 7 days on PhuQuoc Island at the La Veranda Resort, with our boat in, hotel, transfers and return flight all arranged by Vietnam Cycling Tours. I highly recommend that as an add on to your bike trip.

We then visited HoiAn on our own before meeting up with Mr. Van and team again in Hanoi. Because this was not our first time, we switched our city tour to a food tour before hopping on the overnight train to Sapa. This flexibility is one of the ways that Mr. Van and his team offer superb customer service. We met our next guide Mr. Kien, who is local to the area and took us on several back roads as we road over 4 days to the LAOS border. Having Mr. Van on our trip as bike mechanic was a HUGE BONUS. His love of cycling and passion for sharing backroads is unmatched.

The final 4 days of ride started at the LAOS border with a new quide, Mr. Somphai, who delighted us with stories, picked the perfect restaurants, and shared insights about his home and culture. We felt like every day was better than the next and then landed in Luang Prabang, another magical place.

We loved our trips with Mr. Van and team at VietnamCyclingTours and cant wait to go back and do another one.
We have done standard and customized tours with this company and both to be high quality. Feb - Mar 2023

Anya Maren Jepsen party of 5 from United States

Biking Ho Chi Minh - Phnom Penh 5 days

Dear Ms Tam, thank you for your invitation to provide feedback. We loved the trip! - it was very well curated and exceeded our expectations even in the 33* heat! We felt like we experienced a real slice of rural Vietnam. Mr Bao was a fabulous guide: he was knowledgeable, enthusiastic, flexible, knew the area very well, was kind and had a lovely sense of humour! We were very lucky to have him all to ourselves. He explained the itinerary well. Mr Phuong was always smiling, very patient and helpful every time we met up with him. The 4 accomodations were fantastic, especially the ones with pools👍 and the luxurious Victoria Nui Sam on the hills was a perfect way to finish. The local food and drinks were extraordinary. So much food!!
Highlights for us were so many. But seeing the huge variety of farms and family businesses like brick making and noodles making and the trip to the floating market come to mind. The bikes were good but for me, as a female the saddle became uncomfofable after a few hours. A softer one would be lovely!! I am sharing a couple of pictures, Mr Bao was also an excellent photographer. We will be recommending this epic adventure to our friends, kind regards, Sarah and John Kennedy, New Zealand🚲 29 April - 03 May 2023

Sarah Kennedy party from New Zealand

Explore Ca Mau-Rach Gia- Ha Tien- Vietnam's south pole

Hello Tam,

I enjoyed the cycling tour very much. We had no issues with the bicycles, the gears changed smoothly, the brakes worked well and they seemed to be well aligned and maintained. Overall the bicycles were very comfortable and handled the paths and trails well.

We enjoyed the sights and foods of the Mekong delta. The first few days the scenery seemed quite repetitive if there is a way to provide a bit more variety and variation that may be more enjoyable. We did very much appreciate the flexibility of our tour and it was great to be able to do the morning cycling routes and after lunch transfer to the hotel and then Mr Dat would take us on a walking tour in the evening before dinner. That was a great way to experience more of the culture and we got to eat more street food. We very much like being able to eat like the locals. Our driver was very nice and helpful and we felt safe on the rides. Our guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable, patient and happy to provide the flexibility to our tour. We did find the afternoon cycles a bit too hot for us as we are not used to the heat of the region. The mornings were fine and it was nice to be able to relax in the afternoons at the hotel.

Although we weren't able to do the homestay we appreciated the alteration to the tour and got to see the coastal area and even got to take a swim in the ocean. Another suggestion for when the homestay isn't available might be to have 2 nights in one stop and perhaps some other sort of cultural event, that might give cyclists an option to have a day off the bike and either do their own thing or have some other option of activity. But what we did was fine as well. We really like the food and Dat would try and find us new things to try throughout the tour. A food and cycling tour might be something to advertise this as or an idea for other tours as well.

I really don't have anything else to add that is negative. The tour was well organized and we will highly recommend your company for any of our friends or relatives who would like a cycling holiday in Vietnam. If we decide to have a holiday in Vietnam again in the future we will definitely consider trying another of your tours. 23 - 31 Mar 2023

Thanks
Sincerely,
Diane

Mr & Mrs Mohammadi from Canada

Biking Chau Doc- Floating Market- Saigon

This was the highlight of our trip to Vietnam. In our case, we “Saved the best for last" with a 3 day, 2 night tour of the Mekong.

Our guide Hoang was amazing. He "read" how we were doing and adapted to our abilities. We felt like little children pedaling for fun while we followed him. We were mostly off road on paved motorbike trails. We saw beautiful fields, busy markets, lots of canals, and met many people along the way. Hoang’s language skills were excellent - which enhanced everything; Food in the restaurants, agricultural terms, and more.

As a tour operator, Vietnam Cycling tours was as professional as can be. Everything on the itinerary was as we expected; Timing, hotels, meals. The bicycles were excellent. The gearing and fit were good. The shock absorber was nice on the occasional bumps. Most important - they were easy to ride. Minimal strain to get going and keep going. Gears dropped down well for the bridges. Cruised nicely on the flat stretches. While we were tired at the end of the day, there was no problem completing the 50-65 km per day.

Some of the most special aspects of our trip were the local people. Hoang struck up conversations and people showed us their handicrafts and industry. We met people weaving water hyacinths for export, a family growing bean sprouts, and a man harvesting leftover rice for his chickens. We were even invited to a wedding that we cycled by!

On a scale of 1 to 10, we would rate this trip a 12! and if it is even possible, Hoang's contribution would be even higher We very much appreciate the service and detail provided by Vietnam Cycling tours that made sure this was a trip we will always remember.

When we return to Viet Nam we would love to bike with Hoang and Vietnam Cycling Tours again! 03 - 04 - 05 Mar 2023

Mistar from New Zealand

The best Mekong Delta Bike Tour

Dear Phuong Tam,

What a trip! We are simultaneously tired and energized. We had an amazing time.

It was so relaxing to know everything was thought out and organized for us. Mr. Dat had an amazing talent for understanding us- when we should have a cold drink, what special treats we should try, when we should rest, what we liked to photograph, when it was time for a bathroom break, what information we’d be interested in, etc.. -he anticipated all our needs! We really appreciated him sharing his expertise and knowledge about Vietnamese culture and history, and we thoroughly enjoyed spending time with him.

Mr. Dat and Mr. Viet worked together seamlessly. We were met promptly at every pick-up point with cold water, face wipes, and a smooth ride to our next well-planned destination. The bicycles were great; thank you.

Our highlights of the trip were: 1) Time with our guide 2) Beautiful scenery: rice fields, orchards, temples, lotus flowers and water lilies, the river from all angles 3) Seeing all the different neighborhoods and saying “hello” to people 4) the DELICIOUS food (we loved making our own Banh Xeo at the Coco Riverside Lodge) 5) The most beautiful lodging EVER at both the Coco Riverside Lodge and Sam Mountain Lodge 6) Delicious western-style breakfasts at most of the hotels (we didn’t love the breakfast at the Sao Mai Hotel).

Thank you for providing us with the trip of a lifetime. We will definitely recommend your company to everyone we know. 13 - 17 Mar 2023

Sincerely, Sharon and Scott

Sharon and Scott from the United States

Biking Mekong Cai Be - Homestay in An Binh Island

Hi Phuong,
We had a great two days with Bao. He was an experienced rider and had good English. He tailored the trip to our experience so the pace was good and we liked that all the riding was done before lunch. It was a well-balanced trip with breaks when needed, stops at local businesses to see how they do things (incense making, brick making, coconut preparation, etc), variety of paths and roads. Bao always tried to take the most scenic routes however on some occasions this was not possible due to closures which meant we had to go on the bigger roads for longer which weren’t so enjoyable. We loved the homestay experience.
Overall we had a great time and loved our two-day riding trip in the Mekong Delta. We would definitely recommend your company to our friends like I was recommended you by a work colleague. 10-11 Mar 2023.
All the best.
Paula and Remco.

Paula and Remco from Australia

Biking to Phu Quoc Island Mekong Delta

Dear Phuong Tam,
lovely to hear from you - I wanted to come back to you anyway because I checked my bank account again yesterday and could see that the money still not got finally send through. I am so sorry about that and I am going to talk to my bank and will let you know as soon as possible. It’s really annoying that I can’t really rely on their service.

To be honest about the tour - there was nothing negative (and you probably experienced that Europeans are quite hard to please) at all.
I simply loved it, couldn’t have gotten any better. seriously - Hoang is the best host you could have hired for this job so be proud of your choice :)
All the time (!) he was so attentive, took such great care, led us to such lovely and interesting places, was simply the perfect companion.
Thanks again for this great experience, you all did and do a great job.
I already envy the people who still have the Tour ahead of them, I would do it again right away. Esther Ka. 03 - 04 - 05 Mar 2023

Esther Ka from Germany

Rider's Reviews